Pub. Date:
Begin Here: The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967

Begin Here: The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967

by The ZombiesThe Zombies


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 28


Of the literally dozens of memorable bands that emerged from the British Beat scene in the early to mid-'60s, the Zombies were one act that stood out: there was a smart, slightly arty aura to their clever and beautifully crafted melodies, superb vocal harmonies, and a distinct instrumental sound, highlighted by Rod Argent's keyboard work, often using electric piano to memorable effect. Even when the Zombies rocked out or sunk into a tough R&B groove, they could convey a keen intelligence along with their energy, and their more introspective moments gave them a sound and feel that was unique. As good as they were, the Zombies didn't have much luck on the charts -- while "She's Not There" and "Tell Her No" were hits in 1965, most of their subsequent recordings attracted little notice on initial release, and some of the band's finest work was barely heard in its day. Begin Here: The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967 confirms how baffling this is in retrospect. It includes the group's 1965 album Begin Here as well as 22 songs that appeared on singles and EPs, and it's disc two, with those non-LP sides, that makes the case for the Zombies' strengths. The album was divided half and half between covers and originals; all but two of the extra tracks are group originals, and Rod Argent and guitarist Chris White were excellent songwriters, crafting top-notch pop and R&B tunes with a clever twist, and if lead singer Colin Blunstone didn't write as much material, the songs that appear here are fine stuff. The group clearly knew how to make their music work in the studio, and the crisp monophonic remastering by Jon Astley gives these recordings plenty of punch without blurring the sonic details. The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967 preserves a great group in their heyday, and John Tracy's liner notes and a beautifully designed package make this as much a treat for the eyes as for the ears. Short of picking up the box set Zombie Heaven, you're not going to find a much better presentation of this band's Decca years than this.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/21/2011
Label: Repertoire
UPC: 4009910517925
catalogNumber: 1051792
Rank: 81835


Disc 1

  1. Road Runner
  2. Summertime
  3. I Can't Make Up My Mind
  4. The Way I Feel Inside
  5. Work 'n' Play
  6. You've Really Got a Hold on Me
  7. She's Not There
  8. Sticks and Stones
  9. Can't Nobody Love You
  10. Woman
  11. I Don't Want to Know
  12. I Remember When I Loved Her
  13. What More Can I Do
  14. I Got My Mojo Working

Disc 2

  1. You Make Me Feel Good
  2. Leave Me Be
  3. Kind of Girl
  4. Sometimes
  5. It's Alright
  6. Tell Her No
  7. She's Coming Home
  8. I Must Move
  9. I Want You Back Again
  10. Whenever You're Ready
  11. I Love You
  12. Is This the Dream
  13. Don't Go Away
  14. Nothing's Changed
  15. Remember You
  16. Remember You
  17. Just Out of Reach
  18. Indication
  19. How We Were Before
  20. Gotta Get a Hold of Myself
  21. Goin' Out of My Head
  22. She Does Everything for Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Zombies   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Smokey Robinson   Composer
Chris White   Composer
Rod Argent   Composer,Liner Notes
Colin Blunstone   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Ken Jones   Musical Director
Ellas McDaniel   Composer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
John Tracy   Liner Notes
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Dezo Hoffmann   Cover Photo
Clint Ballard   Composer
Pete Hayward   Reissue Art
Marquis Music   Producer
Weinstein   Composer
Randazzo   Composer

Customer Reviews