Begins with the Oboe: A History of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Begins with the Oboe: A History of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra


$71.57 $82.00 Save 13% Current price is $71.57, Original price is $82. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 20

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780802035882
Publisher: University of Toronto Press, Scholarly Publishing Division
Publication date: 09/19/2002
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 8.76(w) x 11.24(h) x 0.92(d)

About the Author

The late Richard Warren was the Archivist for the Toronto Symphony Orchestra for twenty-five years.

Table of Contents

21922-1931: Luigi von Kunits9
31931-1945: Sir Ernest MacMillan, Part 119
41945-1956: Sir Ernest MacMillan, Part 241
51956-1965: Walter Susskind61
61965-1973: Seiji Ozawa and Karel Ancerl81
71973-1975: Victor Feldbrill, Resident Conductor109
81975-1982: Andrew Davis at Massey Hall121
91982-1987: Andrew Davis at Roy Thomson Hall145
101988-1994: Gunther Herbig181
111994-2000: Jukka-Pekka Saraste199
Toward the Unknown: 2001-2002217
Afterword - The Honourable Bob Rae223
A.Musicians of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra229
B.Music Directors, Conductors, and Composers249
C.Presidents/Chairmen of the Board of Directors251
D.Canadian Works Commissioned by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra252
Select Bibliography261

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews