Behind the Mask: A Collection of Poetry

Behind the Mask: A Collection of Poetry

by Helena Lancaster


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


"Like spiders laying in wait for their prey, the anxieties of daily life seem to lay dormant to attack us when we're most vulnerable. What's wrong with me? Will anyone love me? Why doesn't anyone care? Helena Lancaster takes these fears and turns them into a lyrical rumination. These haunting poems evoke a hero of the Byronic persuasion and female to boot!" - Erica Dawn

"Helena Lancaster's deeply emotional poetry shows the world a peek inside the soul of someone who has felt like an outsider, battled emotional abuse, and depression. These poems are an ode to days past for her, the physical remnants of where she has been. She sees herself as a survivor of some very painful events in life and just hopes that her words can help others know that in their darkest moments they're not alone."

Behind the Mask is the first professional publication by writer Helena Lancaster. It contains seventy-five of her poems split into four sections: Nightmares and Solitude, Faces in the Mirror, Haunted Memories, and Circus of Life. Helena has been writing since she was a child, using poetry as a way to deal with the pain of difficulties in life. Her poetry captivates and touches the soul of anyone who has ever felt like they were alone in the dark.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780692371787
Publisher: KCL Publishing
Publication date: 02/03/2015
Pages: 112
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.23(d)

About the Author

Helena Lancaster is a native of the Upstate region of South Carolina. She and her best friends, whom she refers to as her sisters, and their cats live in Bucharest, Romania. She has been writing since she was a small child. Her poetry, which she openly calls her personal form of therapy, became a major focus of her writing during her teenage years. Helena has studied creative writing, history, and literature with interests spanning multiple time periods and genres. She has released two collections of poetry, Behind the Mask: A Collection of Poetry and Phoenix from the Ashes: Poetry from Personal Struggle, Rebirth, and Triumph. She is the co-writer of The Passion of the Dragon Saga along with her best friend, Rayna Kingston. They have released the first two books in the series, Hearts on Fire and Love in Flames, both subtitled The Story of Vlad the Impaler and the Women He Loved and are currently working on the third installment. She has several other novel projects in development with plans to release more poetry in the future.

Customer Reviews