Belvedor and the Four Corners

Belvedor and the Four Corners

by Ashleigh Bello

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Belvedor and the Four Corners is a recipient of the 2017 Indie B.R.A.G. Medallion Award. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games or Divergent with all the charms only a true fantasy can provide, you can’t go wrong with this bewitching new saga!

A slave city.
A tyrannical king.
A spellbinding secret.
A warrior with a dormant gift.
One girl to change the course of history.

Seventeen-year-old Arianna Belvedor has only ever dreamed of winning her freedom from the Four Corners – a cold and cruel city where all the children of the world are locked away until getting the chance to earn their rights to citizenship at eighteen.

Arianna is just months away from having her turn, and her skills as a warrior will surely give her an edge during the final battle at the annual Free Falls Festivals – ‘Free for the slaves who earn their citizenship. Falls for the ones who die.’ But her talent with a sword doesn’t outmaneuver the burning curiosities of her heart, leading her to unearth a shocking yet spectacular secret about the King and his tyranny.

The world as she knows it is a lie. And the King that she serves didn’t earn his crown… he stole it.

Immerse yourself in this addictive new fantasy series as Arianna Belvedor takes on her dark and dangerous world to uncover its magic and more than earn her rights to freedom.

Don't miss the next books in Ashleigh Bello’s enchanting saga, including Belvedor and the King’s Curse and Belvedor and the Desert of Secrets.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153952499
Publisher: Ashleigh Bello
Publication date: 01/09/2017
Series: Belvedor Saga , #1
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 550 KB

About the Author

Ashleigh Bello is the author of the captivating Belvedor Saga. She graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia with a degree in International Studies, and she currently lives in Brooklyn, New York. The inspiration for the Belvedor Saga arose from her extensive world travels. And her passion for adventure continues to help her write future works in the series. She is a self-published author and member of the Alliance of Independent Authors. Her website is www.ashleighbello.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Belvedor and the Four Corners (Belvedor Saga, Book 1) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
ReadersFavorite2 More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Kristen Van Kampen (Teen Reviewer) for Readers' Favorite Belvedor and the Four Corners (Belvedor Saga #1) by Ashleigh Bello is a stunning, young adult novel about a teenage girl named Arianna Belvedor. Arianna is a trained fighter from the warrior’s district ready to fight her way to freedom, but her life is suddenly turned upside down when two unexpected things happen. She meets a girl named Lessa Thur from the healer’s district, in the caverns she thought only she knew about. Then later, she’s bested by her opponent in a battle and saved by magic, a topic that’s forbidden within the Four Corners and one she was taught didn't exist. What will happen to her next? I really enjoyed reading Belvedor and the Four Corners (Belvedor Saga #1) by Ashleigh Bello. It was a very exciting read and will keep the reader in suspense. The book is very well written and descriptive. The charismatic and brave characters are extremely likable, and readers will delight in the magic of the story. The book is a real page turner, and I was hooked by the first page. The story is extremely suspenseful and will keep the reader captivated and wanting to know more. It was absolutely a joy to read and has many surprising scenes that made me gasp out loud and will command the reader’s attention. Author Ashleigh Bello creates an exciting dystopian world that readers will love. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of the YA genre.
ReadersFavorite1 More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Arya Fomonyuy for Readers' Favorite Belvedor and the Four Corners is the first book in the Belvedor Saga by Ashleigh Bello, a compelling entry in the young adult general fantasy category and a great coming of age story. Set against the backdrop of an unfriendly city ruled by a tyrant, a world where children earn their right to citizenship when they turn eighteen—and they must actually earn it through fierce battle or fall to the pit—readers are introduced to Arianna Belvedor, a seventeen-year-old who is looking forward to the final test to earn her place in society. She is a brave warrior with spectacular skills with the sword, but are the Free Falls Festivals what she really yearns for, or is there more? Follow her journey as she sets out to unearth dreaded secrets about the king and how she changes everything. Can she still bow to someone who stole a crown? Ashleigh Bello is a great writer and the reader will be enticed by her ability to paint vivid scenes and to penetrate the emotional depth of her characters. The hook is powerful enough to draw readers into the story and to make them want to follow it till the end. We are introduced to the protagonist right off the bat and in a context where members of her society are not free. The sound of the brass bell already symbolizes oppression for everyone who lives in her world, because it’s a call to adhere to the rigorous routine of their day-to-day lifestyle. Belvedor and the Four Corners is written in beautiful prose and readers will enjoy the plot-driven and intelligently crafted dialogues. This story offers great entertainment and I can’t wait for the next book in the series. Arianna is a character that readers will love to follow.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Maureen Dangarembizi for Readers' Favorite Belvedor and the Four Corners (Belvedor Saga, #1) by Ashleigh Bello is a fantasy novel which begins in The Four Corners of the once magical land of Olleb-Yelfra. The Four Corners is a prison for those who are slaves, with only one way in and one way out. Arianna Belvedor is number 22 in the Warrior district and is set to win her freedom on Free Fall day when she turns 18. But all her well-laid plans go awry when she takes up an ill-advised challenge. Death doesn’t take her, but it strips away everything she ever believed. The world that she thought she knew is a lie and the freedom she’s worked for is false. With the help of her friends, Arianna must escape The Four Corners and restore the Golden Age. I absolutely loved Ashleigh Bello’s blending of fantasy, a Hunger Games like scenario and adventure. This is a well-written book that is literally 'unputdownable.' There was so much action and unexpected twists in this story that I was kept on the edge of my seat the whole time. There is nothing predictable about the sequence of events that leads Arianna to her friends and their dangerous trip to freedom. Ashleigh Bello knows how to set up a mystery. It was so much fun discovering things that had been laid out for future revelation from the beginning. The world of Olleb-Yelfra is a well-developed and fascinating place, at least the little I’ve seen so far. I can’t wait to read the next two books in this series. One of the things I loved about Belvedor and the Four Corners is the inner strength of those who were viewed as weak slaves. It made the main character's victory so much sweeter in the end. An awesome book by a truly talented writer. Great work!
indiebrag More than 1 year ago
We are proud to announce that BELVEDOR AND THE FOUR CORNERS by Ashleigh Bello is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!
Archaeolibrarian More than 1 year ago
Belvedor and the Four Corners is the first book in the Belvedor Saga, and introduces us to a medieval dystopian world, where magic has been outlawed and mostly forgotten. All children are taken from their parents when they are born, and become slaves. They are separated into four different categories - healers, warriors, agrarians, and creators. No one from one sector can communicate with anyone else from a different sector. When they are eighteen, they have to participate in the Free Falls - in which the survivors win their freedom, and the losers die. Arianna is nearing her 18th and both longs for and dreads the occasion. Arianna has friends in places she is unaware of at the beginning of the story. This is a long book, with plenty of detail in both characters and surroundings. Possibly because of this, at times the story feels like it falters in places, becomes stuck in the current story without moving forwards. Of course, when it does move, it does so with gusto, introducing new challenges and characters. Well written, with no editing or grammatical errors to disrupt the reading flow, this is an enjoyable fantasy. Recommended by me. * Verified Purchase ~ March 2017 * Merissa Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!