Benin Bronze

Benin Bronze

by Robin Porecky


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


In 1953 English infantry officer Johnny Callin is with The Royal West African Frontier Force in Nigeria. Obsessed with rare Benin bronzes, he exploits his position to obtain them. When his term of service expires, he decides to drive home across the Sahara with all he has acquired...
In 2012, in Sweden, Magnus Trygg investigates the horrific death of a Nigerian boy at an isolated lake. The murder weapon, a military flamethrower, indicates the involvement of a ruthless big-city gang; and near the body he finds a ju-ju figure which suggests witchcraft. Warned that if he discovers too much he may be in danger, Magnus doggedly perseveres. But when he uncovers a carefully-hidden link between the killing and events in Nigeria fifty-nine years before, one of his family is put in jeopardy.
This is the fifth and final novel in the Magnus Trygg series.

Some reviews of previous books by Robin Porecky:

""A gripping, erudite and highly original journey into the heart of Nordic Darkness.""
Liz Jensen, author of 'The Ninth Life of Louis Drax
""The scenes in Lapland are superbly eerie; and what Janow finds at the end of his voyage of discovery suitably disturbing.""
Alexander Lucie-Smith, 'The Tablet'
""There are echoes of the great Australian novelist Patrick White's 'Voss'; the same epic feel and sense of inevitability.""
Piers Plowright, Triple Prix Italia winner and Radio 4's Saturday review critic
""A good and surprising read.""
Bernard Krichefski, TV Drama Producer
""A splendid piece of work.""
Brendan Walsh, Literary Editor 'The Tablet'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781849636469
Publisher: Austin-Macauley Publishers Ltd
Publication date: 11/30/2016
Pages: 292
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.61(d)

About the Author

Robin Porecky is of Polish origin but was born and brought up in England. For over twenty-five years he has worked in Sweden as a writer and knife-maker. This is his seventh novel, following ‘A Pathless Land', ‘Fool's Island', ‘Come Into My Arms', ‘The Devil's Field', ‘Finished' and ‘RaRa's Last Fan Dance'. It is the fifth and final book in the Magnus Trygg Swedish crime series.

Customer Reviews