Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories: A Murder Squad Anthology

Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories: A Murder Squad Anthology


$11.94 $12.95 Save 8% Current price is $11.94, Original price is $12.95. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Usually ships within 3 days


Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories: A Murder Squad Anthology by Martin Edwards, Murder Murder Squad

A collection showcasing the short story talents of the collective known as the Murder Squad—featuring several award-winning and highly acclaimed crime writers
The Murder Squad all share a special passion for crime, which is reflected in this superb new volume of previously unpublished tales. Funny and sad, atmospheric and dark, ingenious and frightening, each of the 13 stories in this collection—two or three from each contributor—will thrill lovers of crime fiction. In "The Habit of Silence", DI Vera Stanhope—whom Ann Cleeves developed "Because I was so cross with even feminist writers writing female central characters who were young, fit and beautiful. Vera isn't any of those things. She's overweight and middle-aged."—investigates the case of the body in the library. In Martin Edwards' "The People Outside," a tight-knit community is ripped apart by violence, and a lust for vengeance. Cath Staincliffe's "Boom!" is the explosive story of murder in Manchester. Margaret Murphy tells of a Liverpool lad troubled by a mortal sin, in "The Message." The title story is by Stuart Pawson, and asks Why would a writer want to plot revenge? In Cleeves' second offering, "Basic Skills," Maddy thought that books could change lives—but so can murder. Staincliffe's "Laptop" features a laptop thief who takes more than she bargained for. "Act of Contrition," by Murphy, asks if Janice is pleading for forgiveness—or seeking something more sinister? When a rich man's butler vanishes, in Edwards' "The Case of the Musical Butler," Sherlock Holmes is asked to investigate. Cleeves' "Mud" tells of a woman remembering the past, betrayal, and a death. "Riviera" by Staincliffe explores the question When you look in a mirror, who do you see? Pawson tell of a Christmas in prison—but goodwill is in short supply, in "Sprouts." At the end of a book, an index tells a tale of murder, in Edwards' "InDex."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780752463001
Publisher: The History Press
Publication date: 05/01/2012
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 4.90(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Murder Squad is a collective of leading crime fiction writers. The contributing members to this anthology are Ann Cleeves, the CWA Gold Dagger-winning author of Raven Black, Red Bones, and White Nights; Martin Edwards, the CWA Short Story Dagger-winning author of The Hanging Wood and Serpent Pool; Margaret Murphy, the author of Darkness Falls and Weaving Shadows; Stuart Pawson, the author of The Mushroom Man; and Cath Staincliffe, the author of Blue Murder. Barry Forshaw is the author of The Man Who Left Too Soon and The Rough Guide to Crime Fiction.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews