Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Best O' Boingo

Best O' Boingo

by Oingo Boingo Oingo Boingo
Best O' Boingo

Best O' Boingo

by Oingo Boingo Oingo Boingo


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, March 24


A gothic, experimental band that utilized a simple blend of R&B and new wave, Oingo Boingo was quite an innovative force in the eight or so years covered on Best O' Boingo. Few bands can claim such a unique spot in the annals of pop music, but thanks to the visionary songs from lead singer Danny Elfman, Oingo Boingo often transcended the limitations of whatever genre they chose to take on. Picking up after their highly bizarre new wave years, this retrospective emphasizes their poppy, mainstream work, starting with their morbid good-times anthem "Dead Man's Party." Perhaps the best song in their catalog, the track utilizes every likable aspect of their sound, from the intense horn work and start-and-stop rhythms to Elfman's endearingly nasally yelp and impressive compositional skills. Other highlights include the Talking Heads-influenced "Not My Slave," the eerie Eastern-flavored "Sweat," and the campy creep-out anthem "No One Lives Forever." Without access to the material from Boingo's years on A&M Records, the album does feel a bit padded, especially when material from the bland Boi-ngo gets so much play. But with so many great Elfman songs in one place, it's hard to argue with the amount of quality new wave that makes it onto the record. Besides, 1999's Anthology underrated this period in their career, making Best O' Boingo the premiere sampler of their pop-oriented years.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/17/1991
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008811042424
catalogNumber: 10424
Rank: 21825


  1. Dead Man's Party
  2. When the Lights Go Out
  3. Gratitude
  4. Skin
  5. Flesh 'n Blood
  6. Not My Slave
  7. Stay
  8. Sweat
  9. No Spill Blood
  10. Out of Control
  11. Weird Science
  12. No One Lives Forever
  13. Wild Sex (In the Working Class)
  14. Just Another Day
  15. Who Do You Want to Be
  16. Only a Lad
  17. Goodbye-Goodbye

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Oingo Boingo   Primary Artist
Danny Elfman   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Bruce Fowler   Trombone
Sam Phipps   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Carl Graves   Keyboards,Vocals
John Avila   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Mike Bacich   Keyboards
Steve Bartek   Guitar
Johnny Hernandez   Percussion,Drums
Leon Schneiderman   Baritone Saxophone
Dale Turner   Trombone,Trumpet

Technical Credits

Danny Elfman   Producer,Engineer
John Avila   Producer,Engineer
Steve Bartek   Producer,Engineer
Michael Frondelli   Contributor
Bill Jackson   Engineer
Paul Ratejczak   Producer

Customer Reviews