Best of Grieg

Best of Grieg


$15.39 $17.99 Save 14% Current price is $15.39, Original price is $17.99. You Save 14%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, August 22 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Best of Grieg

Finding decent albums of Edvard Grieg's best-known works is not difficult since they are regularly released by the major labels, and the handful of pieces nearly everybody knows -- the "Piano Concerto in A minor," "Peer Gynt Suite No. 1," "From Holberg's Time" (also known as the "Holberg Suite"), and "Wedding Day at Troldhaugen," in various arrangements -- are routinely anthologized and widely available. However, getting a survey that has those pieces and some other favorites, such as the "Lyric Pieces," the "Symphonic Dances," and the "Norwegian Dances," requires searching for something bigger than a single-disc compilation. Fortunately, Deutsche Grammophon has gathered all the above pieces and a few others on its midrange double-disc Best of Grieg, and it's hard to think of a more thorough program, short of what might be found on a comprehensive box set. The orchestral performances by the Berlin Philharmonic under Herbert von Karajan and the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra under Neeme Järvi give the set consistent high quality, and the playing by pianist Lilya Zilberstein in the concerto and by Andrei Gavrilov and Mikhail Pletnev in the solo keyboard works gives this set a nice variety of interpretations. Also worth having in this 2007 Grieg centennial compilation are the sterling vocal performances of mezzo-soprano Marianne Eklöf and soprano Barbara Bonney in the excerpts from the incidental music for "Peer Gynt," and mezzo Anne Sofie von Otter's radiant delivery of "From Monte Pincio" and "I Love You" (the latter two sung in Norwegian and Danish, respectively.) So fans of Grieg's richly Romantic music and newcomers to his work will find this twofer an attractive offering, and appreciate it even more for the exceptional sound quality, which is DG's usual best.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/14/2007
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947766599
catalogNumber: 000917202
Rank: 81217


  1. Peer Gynt Suite for orchestra (or piano or piano, 4 hands) No. 1, Op. 46
  2. Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16
  3. Norwegian Dance for piano, 4 hands (or solo piano) No. 2 in A major ("Allegretto tranquillo e grazioso"), Op. 35/2
  4. Kulok and Stabbelåten (Cow Call and Peasant Dance), Nordic melody for orchestra (or piano or piano, 4 hands) No. 2, Op. 63/2
  5. Lyric Pieces (6) for piano, Book 5, Op. 54: 4. Nocturne: Andante
  6. Lyric Pieces (6) for piano, Book 5, Op. 54: 3. March of the Dwarfs: Allegro moderato
  7. Våren (Last Spring), elegiac melody for orchestra (or piano) No. 2, Op. 34/2
  8. Peer Gynt, incidental music, Op. 23: 15. Arabian Dance
  9. Peer Gynt, incidental music, Op. 23: 19. Solveig's Song
  10. Fra Holbergs tid (From Holberg’s Time), for string orchestra ("Holberg Suite"), Op. 40
  11. I høst (In Autumn), concert overture for orchestra, Op. 11
  12. Symphonic Dances (4) for orchestra (or piano, 4 hands), Op. 64: 2. Allegretto grazioso
  13. Schmetterling (Butterfly), lyric piece for piano, Op. 43/1
  14. An den Frühling (To Spring), lyric piece for piano, Op. 43/6
  15. Bryllupsdag på Troldhaugen (Wedding Day at Troldhaugen), lyric piece for piano, Op. 65/6
  16. Fra Monte Pincio (From Monte Pincio), song for voice & piano, Op. 39/1
  17. Jeg elsker Dig (I Love but Thee), song for voice & piano, Op. 5/3
  18. Sigurd Jorsalfar, suite for orchestra (or piano or piano, 4 hands), Op. 56: 3. Homage March

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews