Better Luck Is a Barroom Away

Better Luck Is a Barroom Away

by The Starline Rhythm Boys



The Starline Rhythm Boys is a trio delightfully out of time and place, producing a potent blend of classic country and vintage rock & roll in the year 2000 and residing in Burlington, VT. Don't let that fool you, though: These boys are the real deal. Former Asleep at the Wheel member Leroy Preston knows it; he pens the liner notes and contributes the fine "Buckets of Love." The album takes listeners back to the time when the lines between rock & roll's infancy and country music were blurred, stirring echoes of "Blue Moon of Kentucky"-era Elvis and landing smack dab between Jimmy Martin and Kitty Wells. Standout tracks include the bluegrassy "Piece of Alabam," the honky tonkin' title track (written by standup bass player Billy Bratcher), the searing rock & roll of "Rollin' Danny," and Rose Lucas' vocal turn on "Life's Heart Is Unfair." But there's not a loser in the bunch and this is great listening from top to bottom. Sean Mencher, from the rockabilly group High Noon, produces.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/17/2007
Label: Cow Island
UPC: 0747728965029
catalogNumber: 3

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Starline Rhythm Boys   Primary Artist
Gary Primich   Harmonica,Mouth Bow,Guest Appearance
Sean Mencher   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Soloist,Guest Appearance
Gene White   Fiddle,Electronic Mandolin
Bill Bratcher   Bass,Vocals,Background Vocals,String Bass
Rose Lucas   Vocals,Background Vocals,screams
Danny Coane   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Mark Cousins   Drums,Snare Drums,Guest Appearance
Allerton "Al" Hawkes   Mandolin,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Guest Appearance
Lemery   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Cartwright "Carty" Thompson   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,Guest Appearance
Cartwright 'Carty' Thompson   Guitar
Starline Rhythm Girl   Background Vocals
Jr. Gene White   Electronic Mandolin

Technical Credits

Don Gibson   Composer
Johnny Paycheck   Composer
Lattie Moore   Composer
Jim Eanes   Composer
Bill Kirchen   Author
Vassar Clements   Author
Pat Gallagher   Composer
Leroy Preston   Composer,Liner Notes
Jim Foley   Composer
Bobby Austin   Composer
Autry Inman   Composer
Paul Edwards   Composer
Sean Mencher   Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Vic McAlpin   Composer
Joe Steen   Composer
Cy Coben   Composer
Matt Robbins   Engineer
Danny Coane   Composer
Robin Gottfried   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews