B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Beyond Recovery: A Journey of Grace, Love, and Forgiveness

Beyond Recovery: A Journey of Grace, Love, and Forgiveness

by Shawn Langwell
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8


From staggering into his first meeting for recovery, to the moment he knew another drink would kill him, Beyond Recovery offers an intimate glimpse into the life of an alcoholic. Shawn Langwell gives a front row seat to what it looks like to hit bottom, and the slow process of healing one day at a time. Through stories that start from childhood, Langwell reveals his painful journey of innocence lost as he grew up in the 1960s surrounded by drugs and free love. He shares about his hippie upbringing in the San Francisco Bay Area, the devastating moment his father abandoned his family, and his role of growing up fast and picking up the pieces. He also shares the shame and discomfort he felt as the child of an absent father, and how alcohol became his escape.In this transparent memoir, Langwell divulges his downward spiral into addiction, his decision to get sober, and the tools he used to help him handle life's tragedies without turning to the bottle.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780998248707
Publisher: Drooling Dog Press
Publication date: 11/06/2016
Pages: 302
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.68(d)

About the Author

Shawn Langwell is an advertising salesman for the Bay Area News Group. He lives in Northern California with his wife, three kids, and shadow-chasing dog, Jasper.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents
Chapter 1 - Jump!
Chapter 2 - Sex, Drugs, and Rock 'n Roll
Chapter 3 - Summer of 1969
Chapter 4 - Brothers
Chapter 5 - Valley Kids
Chapter 6 - How Could You?
Chapter 7 - Mom Needs a Break
Chapter 8 - Single Mom with Teens
Chapter 9 - The Wheelie King
Chapter 10 - San Diego State
Chapter 11 - Alvarado Street
Chapter 12 - Home
Chapter 13 - Defining Moments
Chapter 14 - Recovery
Chapter 15 - A Test of Faith
Chapter 16 - Anger Therapy
Chapter 17 - Looking for Love
Chapter 18 - Young Hormones
Chapter 19 - Just Say Yes!
Chapter 20 - Kiss Your Babies
Chapter 21 - Through the Fire
Chapter 22 - In God's Hands
Chapter 23 - Surrender and Acceptance
Chapter 24 - Love and Forgiveness
Chapter 25 - Second Chances
Chapter 26 - Joy
Chapter 27 - Let it Be
About the Author

Customer Reviews