The Big Blowdown (D.C. Quartet Series #1)

The Big Blowdown (D.C. Quartet Series #1)

by George Pelecanos


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 13


For Joey Recevo and Pete Karras, two kids from one of Washington's rougher neighborhoods, the easiest work to find after the War is all criminal—-providing a little muscle for a local boss. But Karris is soft on his fellow immigrants, and the boss can't let his mob get soft, so one of his boys gives Karras a painful lesson.

Three years later, it's the same mob that figures big Nick Stefanos's grill needs protection—-and this decision will once again bring Joey and Pete face-to-face. In this final confrontation, the two of them will find the meaning of friendship, the heart of honor, and the cost of both.

Powerfully told, elegantly wrought, George P. Pelecanos's The Big Blowdown is a knockout.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780312242916
Publisher: St. Martin's Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/24/1999
Series: D.C. Quartet Series , #1
Edition description: Revised
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 396,465
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.72(d)

About the Author

George P. Pelecanos is the author of several novels, including Nick's Trip, The Sweet Forever, King Suckerman, and Shame the Devil. He lives and works in the Washington, D.C., environs.


Silver Spring, Maryland

Date of Birth:

February 18, 1957

Place of Birth:

Washington, D.C.


B.A., University of Maryland at College Park, 1980

Customer Reviews