Big Tunes: Ignition

Big Tunes: Ignition



Big Tunes: Ignition is a double-disc mix album released by the Ministry of Sound label comprised of fast-paced, bass-heavy tracks intended for car stereo listening. While the music-for-driving marketing concept is somewhat odd, there's no question that these tracks would sound great on a subwoofer-powered car stereo at high volume while racing down the highway. The album is mixed by the Bass Slammers, who are credited with remixing 12 of the 40 tracks spread across two discs. Given the high ratio of Bass Slammers remixes, the tracks tend to sound similar in style, emphasizing hard-driving basslines and repetitious beats. Fans of the Bass Slammers style will find plenty to enjoy here, particularly on the first disc, on which practically every other song is a Bass Slammers remix. Highlights of the first disc include the Bass Slammers remixes of Dizzee Rascal and Armand Van Helden's smash hit "Bonkers" and Kid Cudi and Crookers' "Day 'N' Nite." In contrast, the second disc is more oriented toward trance, particularly the first half of the disc, which includes a couple old favorites, Darude's "Sandstorm" and ATB's "9PM (Till I Come)." The Bass Slammers are better at remixing than they are at DJ mixing, unfortunately, and the tracks sometimes segue jarringly on Big Tunes: Ignition. Anyone looking for a first-rate mix album put together with care and with a variety of track selections should look elsewhere. Big Tunes: Ignition is oriented toward a niche market of dance music consumers mostly interested in bass-heavy tunes to test the capabilities of their car's subwoofer.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2009
Label: Ministry Of Sound Uk
UPC: 5051275021820
catalogNumber: 7502182


Disc 1

  1. Bonkers
  2. In the Heat of the Night
  3. Blame It on You @@Gathania
  4. Hold On
  5. Memory @@Fragma
  6. Day 'N' Nite
  7. Can't Get Over @@September
  8. Let's Start Again
  9. Ecuador @@Sash!
  10. Now You're Gone
  11. Summer of Lovin'
  12. Shine
  13. Wonderful Days
  14. Yeah!
  15. When You're Gone
  16. Freedom
  17. (I Just) Died in Your Arms @@Resource
  18. Love Story @@Swift Inc
  19. Just Dance @@Radio G
  20. Work That Body @@Big Bass Inc.

Disc 2

  1. God Is a DJ
  2. Satisfaction @@Biz
  3. Sandstorm
  4. Operation Blade @@Public Domain
  5. How U Like Bass
  6. Time to Burn @@Storm
  7. 9PM (Till I Come)
  8. Weekend
  9. Raindrops (Encore une Fois) @@Sash!
  10. Feel the Love @@DJ Sammy
  11. Peace (In the Valley)
  12. Sunrise @@Angel City
  13. Angels
  14. Through the Darkness
  15. Rainbow in the Sky
  16. Kinda New (We All Live & Die)
  17. Whoomph! ...There It Is
  18. Let Me Be Your Fantasy @@Scott Giles
  19. Everybody @@Rudenko
  20. We Like to Party @@Maxx King

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sister Bliss   Keyboards
Jonas Von Der Burg   Keyboards
Lara McAllen   Vocals
Marie Louise   Vocals
Sebastian Westwood   Vocals
Niclas Vonderburg   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Nile Rodgers   Composer
Sabrina Johnston   Composer,Producer
Peter Hammond   Vocal Producer
LaMarquis Mark Jefferson   Composer
Terry Lewis   Composer
R. Malone   Engineer
Armand Van Helden   Producer
Sister Bliss   Composer,Producer
MacIsaac & Ross   Composer
Daniel Vangarde   Composer
Tommy Kent   Producer,Engineer
Maxi Jazz   Composer
Ralf Kappmeier   Composer
Henning Reith   Producer
Kirk Turnbull   Composer
Paul Clarke   Composer,Producer
Micky Skeedale   Composer,Producer
Matteo Bonsanto   Composer
Sascha Lappessen   Composer
Trancy Spacer   Composer,Producer
André Tanneberger   Producer
Spacy Trancer   Composer,Producer
Ken Johnston   Composer,Producer
Thomas Alisson   Composer
Jamie Catto   Composer
DJ George Dee   Composer
Nicholas Eede   Composer
Robert Uhlmann   Producer
Addy Van Der Zwan   Composer
Jonas Von Der Burg   Composer,Programming,Producer
Luciano Ninzatti   Composer
Julian Napolitano   Producer
Jens Kindervater   Composer,Producer
Ville Virtanen   Composer
Mauro Ferrucci   Instrumentation
Bm Dubs   Producer
Sarita Borge   Vocal Producer
Richard Adlam   Producer
Bruce Elliot Smith   Vocal Producer
Alex Karbouris   Producer,Remixing
Reinhard Raith   Producer
Wolfgang Boss   Producer
Oliver Laib   Composer,Producer
Johan Becker   Composer
Floyd Dyce   Composer
Frank Knebel   Producer
James Theochari   Producer,Engineer
Sabine "ENCORE" Ohmes   Composer
James Murray   Composer,Producer
Stephen Singer   Producer
Pasticmen   Composer
Uwe Taubert   Composer,Producer
Rob Mayth   Producer,Remixing
Taylor Swift   Composer
Gabriel Olegavich   Producer
Charly Lownoise & Mental Theo   Producer
Wez "The Wizard" Clarke   Producer
Leonid Rudenko   Producer
Lee Bailey   Composer
Mark Coupe   Producer
Alex Ridge   Producer
Ragsy   Composer
Josse D. Ruiz   Composer
Dave Heels   Producer,Remixing
Lazee   Composer
Nilesh Ricci Parmar   Producer,Remixing
Niclas Vonderburg   Composer
Eshraque Mughal   Composer
Joakim Udd   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jonas Altberg   Composer,Producer
Alfredo Larry Pignagnoli   Executive Producer
CJ Stone   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews