Billie Heartwing

Billie Heartwing

by Albert L. Dulin


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


Jim Blackburn, out-of-work journalist, meets a prickly old woman at an airport overlook, the start of an unlikely friendship. Over several months she spins a tale of her amazing life’s journey. Jim discovers that Billie Hardwicke is a veteran World War II Women Airforce Service Pilot (WASP), an adventurous, sometimes foolhardy soul who bravely takes on the Army’s most challenging bombers, transports and pursuit aircraft. Jim realizes he must tell the world her story.

Beginning in her teens, Billie questions her place in the world, her talents, even her own sexuality. Then she finds her true calling…in the air. She fights to gain a foothold in the male dominated skies, while breaking the law, breaking more than one heart, even killing. Billie crisscrosses America, leaps the North Atlantic and dives deep into the treacherous South American jungle, always pushing the envelope and the limits of her abilities.

As Billie’s story makes its final approach, Jim will discover secrets she has carried for decades. And he will find his life closely tied to hers while learning to confront his own fear of flying.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780578438610
Publisher: KeyLight Media
Publication date: 04/01/2019
Pages: 492
Sales rank: 1,201,157
Product dimensions: 7.90(w) x 5.20(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

Albert L. Dulin, a North Carolina native, is an artist, musician, photographer, video producer and writer. His current projects include writing a new play based on the life of Wernher von Braun. He has two grown, artistic children and several grandchildren.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: An Old Leather Jacket

Chapter 2: First Flight

Chapter 3: A Great Lady

Chapter 4: Lightnin' Bug

Chapter 5: Like A Freight Train

Chapter 6: Fifinella

Chapter 7: Pursuit

Chapter 8: Smoke

Chapter 9: Fired

Chapter 10: The Dame With No Name

Chapter 11: The Pond

Chapter 12: Sticky Mudhole

Chapter 13: Phoenix Rising

Chapter 14: The Southern Cross

Chapter 16: The Word Of God

Chapter 17: The Garden Of Eden

Chapter 18: Serpents

Chapter 19: Glory

Epilogue: The Gift

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews