Billy Crystal Presents: The Milt Gabler Story

Billy Crystal Presents: The Milt Gabler Story

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Billy Crystal Presents: The Milt Gabler Story

His nephew, Billy Crystal, produced this anthology of 26 milestones from the record producer's long and varied, albeit heavily jazz influenced, career, ranging from Louis Armstrong, Billie Holiday, and Bing Crosby to the Weavers, Bill Haley, and Wayne Newton. The purview is unbalanced-only five Commodores and 21 Deccas-but it's rare to find a compilation that crosses borders as confidently as this; you may not like it all (I can accept Newton easier than the Four Aces), but the diversity is compelling. My nomination for peak moment: Lester Young's tenor saxophone solo on "Them There Eyes."

Product Details

Release Date: 03/15/2005
Label: Grp Records
UPC: 0075021035522
catalogNumber: 000391100

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pete Seeger   Banjo,Guitar,Vocals
Pearl Bailey   Vocals
Bing Crosby   Vocals
Peggy Lee   Vocals
Wayne Newton   Vocals
Bill Haley   Guitar,Vocals
George Barnes   Guitar
Will Bradley   Trombone
Milt Buckner   Piano
Buck Clayton   Trumpet
Eddie Condon   Guitar
Ella Fitzgerald   Vocals
Bud Freeman   Tenor Saxophone
Freddie Green   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Grey   Trombone
Bobby Hackett   Cornet
Lionel Hampton   Vibes
Illinois Jacquet   Tenor Saxophone
Gordon Jenkins   Conductor
Hank Jones   Piano
Jo Jones   Drums
Louis Jordan   Alto Saxophone,Vocals
Yank Lawson   Trumpet
Marshall Royal   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Pee Wee Russell   Clarinet
Tab Smith   Alto Saxophone
Lester Young   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Irving Ashby   Guitar
Eddie Barefield   Tenor Saxophone
Joe Bushkin   Piano
Billy Butterfield   Trumpet
Bobby Byrne   Trombone
Bobby Donaldson   Drums
Hank D'Amico   Clarinet
Bob Haggart   Bass
Taft Jordan   Trumpet
Carl Kress   Guitar
Bernie Leighton   Piano
Matty Matlock   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Hal McIntyre   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Sy Oliver   Conductor
Frankie Newton   Trumpet
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
George Wettling   Drums
Wild Bill Davis   Piano
Stan Freeman   Piano
Don Redman   Conductor
Dick Haymes   Vocals
Maxene Andrews   Vocals
Alberts   Vocals
Wild Bill Davison   Trumpet
Sam "The Man" Taylor   Tenor Saxophone
Patty Andrews   Vocals
Ralph Carmichael   Conductor
Kitty Kallen   Vocals
Walter Page   Bass
George Duvivier   Bass
Jack McVea   Baritone Saxophone
Vernon Alley   Bass
Louis Armstrong   Trumpet,Vocals
Everett Barksdale   Guitar
Ernie Bernhardt   Trumpet
Billie Holiday   Vocals
Larry Binyon   Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Blowers   Drums
Dave Bowman   Piano
Ray Brown   Bass
Georg Brunis   Trombone
Eddie Byrd   Drums
Ernie Caceres   Baritone Saxophone
Toots Camarata   Conductor
Russ Case   Trumpet
Bob Casey   Bass
Nat King Cole   Piano,Vocals
Sonny Craven   Trombone
Cutty Cutshall   Trombone
Sammy Davis   Vocals
Frank DeVito   Drums
Eddie Dougherty   Drums
Art Drelinger   Tenor Saxophone
Eddie Durham   Electric Guitar
Morey Feld   Drums
Ronnie Gilbert   Vocals
Leonard Graham   Trumpet
Chris Griffin   Trumpet
Joe Harris   Drums
Lee Hays   Guitar,Vocals
Fred Hellerman   Guitar,Vocals
Carl Hogan   Guitar
Aaron Izenhall   Trumpet
Josh Jackson   Tenor Saxophone
Dick Jacobs   Alto Saxophone
Manny Klein   Trumpet
Jack Lesberg   Bass
Frank Ludwig   Tenor Saxophone
Dave Mahoney   Vocals
Donald Mills   Vocals
Harry Mills   Vocals
Herbert Mills   Vocals
Danny Perri   Guitar
Ray Perry   Violin,Alto Saxophone
Jack Pleis   Conductor
Irving "Mouse" Randolph   Trumpet
Art Ryerson   Guitar
Gene Schroeder   Piano
Artie Shapiro   Bass
Jesse "Po" Simpkins   Bass
Jess Stacy   Piano
Jack Trainor   Trumpet
Vic Schoen   Conductor
Paul Webster   Trumpet
Sonny White   Piano
Milt Yaner   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Paul Ricci   Tenor Saxophone
Danny Cedrone   Guitar
Joey d'Ambrosio   Tenor Saxophone
Don Eisaman   Trumpet
Johnny Grande   Piano
Billy Gussack   Drums
Kenneth Hollon   Tenor Saxophone
Marshall Lytle   Bass
Thomas Parshley   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Billy Williamson   Steel Guitar
Andrew Ferretti   Trumpet
Lee Young   Drums
Jack Greenberg   Saxophone
Bob Peck   Trumpet
Carl Poole   Trumpet
Jack Satterfield   Trombone
LaVerne Andrews   Vocals
Eddie Martin   Tenor Saxophone
Lloyd Phillips   Piano
Lou Silvestri   Vocals
Harry Jaeger   Drums
Walt Stuart   Trumpet
Fred Beckett   Trombone
Jimmy McLin   Guitar
Ermet Perry   Trumpet
Haig Stephens   Bass
Stanley Payne   Tenor Saxophone
Jack Cressey   Alto Saxophone
Bill Holcombe   Tenor Saxophone
Sod Vaccaro   Vocals
Harry Sloan   Trombone
Art Drellinger   Saxophone
John Hayes   Tenor Saxophone
Roberta Sherwood   Vocals
John H.R. Mills   Vocals
John Richard Lewis   Piano
Johnny Williams & His Orchestra   Bass
Jack Rice   Trombone
Freddie Ohms   Trombone
George Harris   Baritone Saxophone
Harry Crisp   Piano,Celeste
Eddie Hutchinson   Trumpet
Harvey Nevins   Alto Saxophone
Lou Skeen   Trombone
John Twaddle   Trumpet
Larry Valentine   Trombone
Hymie Shertzer   Alto Saxophone

Technical Credits

Billy Crystal   Liner Notes
Lead Belly   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Jesters   Vocal Group
Benny Goodman   Composer
Lionel Hampton   Arranger,Composer
Gordon Jenkins   Arranger
Bert Kaempfert   Composer
Russ Morgan   Composer
Hal McIntyre   Arranger
Sy Oliver   Arranger
Wild Bill Davis   Arranger
Don Redman   Arranger
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Denver Darling   Composer
Ralph Carmichael   Arranger
Jerry Ross   Composer
Richard Adler   Composer
Fabian André   Composer
Paul Baron   Composer
Billie Holiday   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Toots Camarata   Arranger
Jimmy DeKnight   Composer
Milt Gabler   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Nancy Hamilton   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
John A. Lomax   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Charles Peterson   Cover Photo
Jack Pleis   Arranger
Roger "Ram" Ramirez   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Vincent Rose   Composer
Kurt Schwabach   Composer
Wilbur Schwandt   Composer
Larry Stock   Composer
Jule Styne   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Morey Amsterdam   Composer
Jimmy Sherman   Composer
Guy Bonham   Composer
Wamp Carlson   Composer
Vaughn Horton   Composer
Ray Gilbert   Composer
Hollis King   Art Direction
Jeri Sullivan   Composer
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Hoffman   Composer
Morgan Lewis   Composer
Lew Pollack   Composer
Doris Tauber   Composer
William Tracey   Composer
Dwight Latham   Composer
Paul Lincke   Composer
Edith Lindeman   Composer
Dick Manning   Composer
Lilla C Robinson   Composer
Carl Stutz   Composer
James Cavanaugh   Composer
Max Freedman   Composer
Lewis Gensler   Composer
Ashley Kahn   Liner Notes
L. Allen   Composer
Bryan Koniarz   Compilation Supervisor
Jimmy Davis   Composer
Song Spinners   Vocal Group
Hee Jeong Lee   Cover Design
John J. Stamford   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews