Bird Call!: The Twin City Stomp of the Trashmen

Bird Call!: The Twin City Stomp of the Trashmen

by The Trashmen The Trashmen


$32.89 $46.99 Save 30% Current price is $32.89, Original price is $46.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 9


Over half of this collector's four-CD box set is previously unissued studio, demo, rehearsal, or live recordings. Nothing is duplicated in this material originally recorded from 1961-1967. The Trashmen are an amazing summary of contradictions when looked at from afar. In pictures, even live ones, they are four clean-cut chaps in suits. Their nationwide 1963 hit "Bird," the 1965 version of which is included here, is a deliriously silly, primitively noisy, and utterly infectious gem. It's like playing a Black Sabbath album and showing pictures of the Bee Gees and trying to get someone to believe they are one and the same. The Trashmen's arrangements are two guitars of clarion twang and garage crunch with harmony with lead vocals often moving from one member to another. While some of their covers are saccharine (for example, Buddy Holly's "Tell Me How"), they offer such glorious trash rock as the cartoonish analysis of Bo Diddley's signature sound in "Bird Diddley Beat." The Trashmen tap straight into a democratic and transforming American spirit that celebrates the Universal Goof, a sort of holy fool spreading pure joy through music. There you have the entertainment recipe of the Trashmen: surf, doo-wop, blues, and rock & roll motifs swirled together for either devastating hilarity or smooth, slow dancing ballads.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/17/1998
Label: Sundazed Music Inc.
UPC: 0090771102225
catalogNumber: 11022
Rank: 114217


Disc 1

  1. Cyclon
  2. Sally Jo
  3. Johnny B. Goode
  4. Malagueña
  5. Susie-Q
  6. Sweet Little Sixteen
  7. A Million Reasons
  8. Malagueña
  9. Guitar Boogie
  10. Surfin' Bird
  11. King of the Surf
  12. This Should Go on Forever
  13. Yellow Jacket
  14. Rumble
  15. Let's Go Trippin'
  16. My Woodie
  17. Bird Bath
  18. Tube City
  19. Farmer Louie
  20. Goofy Foot

Disc 2

  1. Church Key
  2. Raw-Hide
  3. Bird Dance Beat
  4. A-Bone
  5. Stick Shift
  6. (Ghost) Riders in the Sky
  7. Think It Over
  8. Be True to Your School
  9. Too Young
  10. Greensleeves
  11. Wild Cat Loose in Town
  12. Green Onions
  13. Walk, Don't Run
  14. We Belong Together
  15. True True Lovin'
  16. Roll over Beethoven
  17. Congratulations to Me
  18. Hava Nagila
  19. Drive-In
  20. Walking the Dog

Disc 3

  1. Break Up
  2. Bad News
  3. On the Move
  4. New Generation
  5. Whoa Dad!
  6. Peppermint Man
  7. Baja
  8. Long Tall Texan
  9. Blue Feeling
  10. Great Balls of Fire
  11. Lost Angel
  12. Bye Bye Johnny
  13. Slow Down
  14. Walkin' My Baby
  15. Keep Your Hands off My Baby
  16. Hi-Heel Sneakers
  17. Summertime
  18. Long Tall Sally
  19. Real Live Doll
  20. Dancin' with Santa

Disc 4

  1. Bird '65
  2. Ubangi Stomp
  3. That I Love You
  4. Love's Made a Fool of You
  5. Same Lines
  6. Hanging on Me
  7. Pretty Country Girl
  8. Mind Your Own Business
  9. Talk About Love
  10. Gloria
  11. Tell Me How
  12. Bird Diddley Beat
  13. It Takes Two
  14. Heartbeat
  15. Well...All Right
  16. Talk About Love
  17. (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone
  18. Breathless
  19. What'd I Say
  20. Money (That's What I Want)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews