Black Cat

Black Cat

by Never Shout Never


$12.62 $13.99 Save 10% Current price is $12.62, Original price is $13.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, July 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Black Cat

Starting out as the solo vehicle for kooky bedroom glam-folkie Christofer Drew, Missouri-based Never Shout Never evolved over six albums into an eclectic collaborative rock outfit. With the group's seventh studio album, 2015's Black Cat, Drew and Never Shout Never have crafted their most mature and sonically sophisticated album to date. Recorded in Los Angeles with producer Dennis Herring (Elvis Costello, Modest Mouse), Black Cat finds Never Shout Never pulling together many of the disparate influences that have shaped their sound, from confessional emo-folk to arty psychedelic rock to punky dance-leaning pop. The album follows on Never Shout Never's introspective, largely acoustic album Recycled Youth, which found them reworking songs from previous albums. While Black Cat is a much more robust production, replete with electric and electronic flourishes, one can easily see the through line of creative growth between the two releases. In a sense, Black Cat filters the exuberant rock sound of the band's 2013 effort Sunflower through the prism of Herring's expert production lense. Cuts like the leadoff "Hey! We OK" and the driving "Awkward Conversations (Best Day)" borrow the fuel-injected '70s power pop craftsmanship of classic bands like the Cars and Cheap Trick. Elsewhere, with infectious anthems like "Fone Tag" and the wide-eyed "Woohoo," Never Shout Never seem to have nothing but romance and dancing on their minds. Thankfully, Drew hasn't forsaken his bedroom pop roots, and there are enough intimate, ukulele-heavy, folk-inflected songs on Black Cat, like "Red Balloon" and "Peace Song," to please longtime fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/07/2015
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
UPC: 0093624926528
catalogNumber: 550090
Rank: 78062

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Never Shout Never   Primary Artist
Dennis Herring   Guitar,Piano,Background Vocals
Mark Needham   Synthesizer
Ian Crawford   Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Background Vocals
Chris Drew   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Glockenspiel,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Ukeke
Dave Elitch   Drums
Kenny Carkeet   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Spencer Ludwig   Trumpet
Hayden Kaiser   Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Taylor MacFee   Bass,Percussion,Background Vocals
Kiel Feher   Drums
Misha Hercules   Piano
Jill Lamoureaux   Vocals

Technical Credits

Dennis Herring   Composer,Programming,Producer
Csaba Petocz   Engineer
Ian Crawford   Composer
Chris Drew   Composer,Programming,Whistle
Donny Phillips   Illustrations
Kenny Carkeet   beats
Hayden Kaiser   Composer
Taylor MacFee   Composer
Simon Katz   beats
Rachel Many   Art Direction
Misha Hercules   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews