by Dierks BentleyDierks Bentley


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19


On the album art of Black, his eighth album, Dierks Bentley appears in a seemingly foreign atmosphere for the country singer: the stylish, sexy streets of a city at night. This change in setting -- previously, Bentley has been seeing picking on a porch, grinning in an alley, staring into the sunset, and chilling with a dog -- doesn't necessarily suggest a leap into crossover country-pop, but there's little question that the sultry gloss of Black is a consolidation of 2014's Riser, a record slicker and straighter than its predecessors. Call it maturation as much as a shift in aesthetics. Now 40, Bentley doesn't spend as much time raising the roof as he once did, preferring slow grooves and smoky textures. When he gets loose, it's in a measured fashion: "Somewhere on a Beach" and "Roses and a Time Machine," tacit sequels to "Drunk on a Plane," march to a beat so deliberate that revelry seems like an afterthought, even when Dierks sings about "edumacation." Only when he brings Trombone Shorty in for a cameo on "Mardi Gras" does the pace actually quicken, but Black is intentionally bereft of such carefree moments. Alternating impeccable midtempo anthems and soft ballads -- the latter including duets with Maren Morris ("I'll Be the Moon") and Elle King ("Different for Girls") -- Black winds up gelling into gently pulsing AAA-country. It's mood music, sometimes playing as smooth as a seduction but better suited for moments of introspection when you're surrounded by a crowd and need to isolate.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/27/2016
Label: Capitol Nashville
UPC: 0602547782960
catalogNumber: 002474502
Rank: 159722


  1. Black
  2. Pick Up
  3. I'll Be the Moon
  4. What the Hell Did I Say
  5. Somewhere on a Beach
  6. Freedom
  7. Why Do I Feel
  8. Roses and a Time Machine
  9. All the Way to Me
  10. Different for Girls
  11. Mardi Gras
  12. Light It Up
  13. Can't Be Replaced

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dierks Bentley   Primary Artist
Jerry Douglas   Dobro
Jeff Coffin   Saxophone
Dan Dugmore   Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar
Mike Haynes   Trumpet
Natalie Hemby   Background Vocals
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
Craig Wright   Drums
Jonathan Yudkin   Strings
Micah Wilshire   Background Vocals
Sam Ashworth   Background Vocals
Fred Eltringham   Drums
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar
Roy Agee   Trombone
Lee Hendricks   Bass
Luke Dick   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Tony Lucido   Bass
Hillary Lindsey   Background Vocals
Jaren Johnston   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Jedd Hughes   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Ross Copperman   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Jessi Alexander   Background Vocals
Maren Morris   Vocals,Background Vocals
Aaron Sterling   Percussion,Drums
Charlie Worsham   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Luke Laird   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews   Trombone
Danny Rader   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bouzouki,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Elle King   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Joe Baldridge   Engineer
Natalie Hemby   Composer
Dan Wilson   Composer
Jonathan Yudkin   Arranger,Engineer
Andrew Dorff   Composer
F. Reid Shippen   Engineer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
Luke Dick   Composer,Programming
Dierks Bentley   Composer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Douglas Gledhill   Art Direction
Ross Copperman   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Jessi Alexander   Composer
Arturo Buenahora   Executive Producer
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Josh Kear   Composer
Luke Laird   Composer,Programming
Heather Morgan   Composer
Matt Dragstrem   Composer
Jimmy Robbins   Composer,Programming
Scooter Carusoe   Composer
Adam James   Composer
Danny Rader   Programming,overdub engineer
Charles Smith   Engineer
Jaron Boyer   Composer
J.T. Harding   Composer
Steven Moakler   Composer
Chris Tompkins   Composer
Alexander Palmer   Composer
M. Allen Parker   Engineer
Ryan Hurd   Composer
Dave Kuncio   Composer
Michael Tyler   Composer
Josh Mirenda   Composer

Customer Reviews