The Black Hole at the Center of Our Galaxy

The Black Hole at the Center of Our Galaxy

by Fulvio Melia
5.0 4
ISBN-10:
0691095051
ISBN-13:
9780691095059
Pub. Date:
04/21/2003
Publisher:
Princeton University Press

Hardcover - Rent for

Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options
    $31.78 $47.95 Save 34% Current price is $31.78, Original price is $47.95. You Save 34%.
  • purchase options

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Black Hole at the Center of Our Galaxy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
MAQMAQ More than 1 year ago
I have gradually gotten interested in learning more about black holes and have been looking for an introductory (but not trivial!) book that covers the essentials of this topic for a beginner like me. This book by Melia meets my requirements very well. It is written for the non-technical reader, but is far from trivial or superficial. In fact, some of my friends who have already studied relativity tell me that they finally understood the basic concepts of Einstein's work after reading chapter 3 in this book. So it's clearly not a superficial text. But Melia writes with such eloquence and clarity that even difficult topics are accessible. I highly recommend this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Last week I was fortunate to hear Prof. Melia speak on the subject of his two new books, this title, and 'The Edge of Infinity,' and was so impressed I rushed out to get copies of both. I was not disappointed. Both books are very well written, and beautifully produced, with color images throughout. His style is similar to that with which he presented the subject at our amateur astronomy meeting---clear, lively, and thoughtful. I am recommending these to all my friends and relatives. They're the best astronomy books I've read in years, and am looking forward to reading more from him in the years to come!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Take an exciting and exotic topic like 'black holes' and a gifted writer like Fulvio Melia, and what do you get? A surprisingly and satisfyingly accessible book like 'The Black Hole at the Center of Our Galaxy.' At times it reads like a science fiction novel, until you realize that all of the contents are factual. It's amazing how far astronomers have come in unravelling the mystery behind arguably the most bizarre objects in the universe, and especially the supermassive black hole at the center of our own Galaxy. And Melia does a great job setting the stage and then explaining where things stand. I particularly liked chapter 3, in which he sets out in everyday terms what mass is, and how it is related to gravity. I read it twice before going on to the next. Several questions that have bothered me for years were finally answered. Read this and catch up on where science has gone in the past decade!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is Fulvio Melia's first book written for the layman and I am very impressed. It's the best book on the subject of black holes that I have ever read. I'm not an expert, but Prof. Melia made me feel like I could understand this subject like a professional scientist. In my opinion, he's the leader of a new generation of popularizers of science, in the tradition of Sagan and Hawking. This is a must read for anyone with an interest in astronomy.