Black Magic: Music from the Dan Klores Film

Black Magic: Music from the Dan Klores Film

Black Magic: Music from the Dan Klores Film

Black Magic: Music from the Dan Klores Film


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 8


The soundtrack to Dan Klores' four-hour documentary Black Magic, which tells the story of the civil rights movement in the 1960s through the eyes of basketball players and coaches who attended black colleges and universities during the era, this tight little 13-song set also makes for one hell of a party record with vintage soul, R&B, and funk sides like Arthur Conley's the-title-says-it-all "Sweet Soul Music," Ray Charles' barnstorming "Mess Around," and a trio of classic gritty, greasy instrumentals by Booker T. & the MG's ("Boot-Leg"), the Mar-Keys ("Morning After"), and the Bar-Kays ("Soul Finger"). The complete soundtrack to the film covers a bit more ground, with some 50 songs ranging from jazz and jump blues to soul, R&B, and adrenaline-pumping funk, but this succinct sampler is keyed to keep one's feet moving, and it does so with a glorious, joyful verve. The film, which was co-produced by Klores and basketball great Earl "The Pearl" Monroe, details the racism and struggles these players had to endure, but as is often the case, the soulful music of the times strove to rise above it all, full of hope and promise, brimming with life, love, and motion. It's a powerful set, one that will make you want to clear away the tables and chairs and cut loose, the perfect complement to a strong, no-stopping-me drive to the rim.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2008
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227993672
catalogNumber: 438716
Rank: 202757


  1. C'mon Children
  2. Sweet Soul Music
  3. Boot-Leg
  4. Land of 1000 Dances
  5. Teasin'
  6. Hey Little Girl
  7. Mess Around
  8. Morning After
  9. Ghetto
  10. Love the Life You Live
  11. What Is Hip?
  12. Soul Finger
  13. Pick Up the Pieces

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Arthur Conley   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer
Chris Kenner   Composer
Otis Redding   Composer
Maurice White   Composer
Delaney Bramlett   Composer
Wade Flemons   Composer
Larry Graham   Composer
Alan Gorrie   Composer
Roger Ball   Composer
Ronald Bell   Composer
Roy Byrd   Composer
Ben Cauley   Composer
Carl Cunningham   Composer
Fats Domino   Composer
Malcolm Duncan   Composer
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Composer
Earl Forest   Composer
David Garibaldi   Composer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Phalon Jones   Composer
Stephen "Doc" Kupka   Composer
Onnie McIntyre   Composer
Robert "Spike" Mickens   Composer
Gene Redd   Composer
Dennis "D.T." Thomas   Composer
Richard Westfield   Composer
Gene Redd   Composer
James Alexander   Composer
Mae Boren Axton   Composer
Don Whitehead   Composer
Mathieu Bitton   Art Direction
Curtis Ousley   Composer
Robert Talley   Composer
Tarik Braford   Producer
Earl Monroe   Liner Notes
Claydes Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews