Black Orpheus

Black Orpheus

by Nilson Matta


$14.10 $14.99 Save 6% Current price is $14.1, Original price is $14.99. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Black Orpheus

Jazz bassist and composer Nilson Matta's 2012 take on the classic soundtrack to the 1959 film Black Orpheus stays pretty closely to the original. Original songs and incidental music by both Antonio Carlos Jobim and Luiz Bonfá made for one of the most revered Brazilian soundtracks of the day, and Matta's only slightly jazz-leaning renditions of tracks like "Samba de Orfeu" and "A Felicidade" meld the classic bossa nova rhythms with a somewhat modernized jazz fusion spirit.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/12/2013
Label: Motema Music
UPC: 0181212001037
catalogNumber: 103
Rank: 228613

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nilson Matta   Primary Artist,Bass
Kenny Barron   Piano
Randy Brecker   Trumpet
Alfredo Cardim   Piano
Anat Cohen   Clarinet
Anne Drummond   Flute
Erivelton Silva   Drums
Alex Kautz   Drums
Guilherme Monteiro   Guitar
Klaus Mueller   Piano
Jorjão Silva   Percussion,Soloist
Reinaldo Silva   Percussion
Fernando Saci   Percussion,Pandeiro,Cuica
Laura Metcalf   Clarinet

Technical Credits

Luiz Bonfá   Composer
Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Kenny Barron   Arranger
Alfredo Cardim   Arranger
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Nilson Matta   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Jana Herzen   Executive Producer
Eric Elterman   Engineer
Klaus Mueller   Arranger
Roger Freret   Engineer
Ted Sannella   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews