Black Sails at Midnight

Black Sails at Midnight

by Alestorm Alestorm


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 13


For some bands (especially those in the metal community), The Lord of the Rings and its surrounding mythology served as the perfect platform on which to build a power metal empire, but for Scotland's Alestorm it was Pirates of the Caribbean. Like its brother genre Viking metal, Alestorm's signature brand of Jolly Roger metal fuses traditional melodies (in this case, Irish and Scottish folk) to the backbone of heavy metal in all of its various incarnations. Released in 2009, Black Sails at Midnight differs little from the previous year's Captain Morgan's Revenge -- an octopus-faced Davey Jones still graces the cover in homage to Iron Maiden's iconic mascot Eddie, the riffs are stormy and fast, and the choruses are made for swaying your bottles of grog in the air before breaking them over the head of your closest neighbor -- but there is a definite air of musical and thematic confidence that was missing from the latter. At its best, Alestorm's tales of bravery and treachery on the high seas are on par with some of folk-metal's best and brightest (Turisas, Dragonforce, Korpiklaani, Finntroll), though one wishes that they could find a way to replace the cheesy accordion keyboards with the real thing. That said, it's hard to not become at least a little effusive over a record that comes adorned with a round, white sticker on the front that says "Scottish Pirate Metal!" (the exclamation point is key).

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2009
Label: Napalm
UPC: 0693723512426
catalogNumber: 351242
Rank: 39151


  1. The Quest
  2. Leviathan
  3. That Famous Ol' Spiced
  4. Keelhauled
  5. To the End of Our Days
  6. Black Sails at Midnight
  7. No Quarter
  8. Pirate Song
  9. Chronicles of Vengeance
  10. Wolves of the Sea

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alestorm   Primary Artist
Ian Wilson   Percussion,Background Vocals,Vibraslap
Dani Evans   Guitar,Background Vocals
Mirjam Beyer   Violin
Dee Bloodpunch   Background Vocals
Brenden Casey   Background Vocals
Meinrich Gimpel   Bass Trombone
Tobias Hain   Trumpet
Lasse Lammert   Guitar,Background Vocals
Tina Shaw   Background Vocals
Justus Twele   Bagpipes
Christopher Bowes   Keyboards,Vocals,tin whistle

Technical Credits

Tim Shaw   Composer
Claes Andreasson   Composer
Johan Sahlén   Composer
Alestorm   Composer
Ingo Römling   Artwork
Gordon Krei   Brass Arrangment
Lasse Lammert   Producer,Engineer
Gareth Murdock   Contributor
Christopher Bowes   Composer

Customer Reviews