Blackmark (The Kingsmen Chronicles #1)

Blackmark (The Kingsmen Chronicles #1)

by Jean Lowe Carlson

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

“Spellbinding! Strong development of characters, fully integrated storylines with intriguing plot twists, and deep world building. Takes you on a journey you never want to leave!” – Michelle G., Amazon Review

“Like George RR Martin and Joe Abercrombie, Carlson writes in this genre for grown-ups, with flair and elegance. A complex world with characters that develop well, this story reveals as it builds!” - Daniel F., Amazon Reviewer

A nation's elite warriors vanished overnight. A throne in jeopardy on the heels of murder. War devouring the survivors, fanned to fury by a shadowy cabal born of ancient magic. And the five friends who can stop it, banished to the corners of the continent as traitors. Welcome to a land where dreams die and men do what they must.

This dark and gritty sword and sorcery series from award-winning author Jean Lowe Carlson explores a complex world of treachery, passion, sex, and magic. Readers who enjoy George R.R. Martin's A Game of Thrones, Brandon Sanderson's Stormlight Archive, Patrick Rothfuss' the Kingkiller Chronicles, or Robert Jordan's the Wheel of Time will love this fantastic adventure.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154436684
Publisher: Jean Lowe Carlson
Publication date: 06/25/2017
Series: The Kingsmen Chronicles
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,585
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

**Subscribe to my newsletter for first looks, free short stories, and advance review opportunities! http://jeanlowecarlson.com/ Award-winning author Jean Lowe Carlson ND writes adventurous fantasy fiction with a dark twist. Her raw worlds are reminiscent of Patrick Rothfuss, Clive Barker, Brent Weeks, Jacqueline Carey, and Robin Hobb. Jean holds a doctorate in Naturopathic Medicine (ND), and has a keen awareness of psychology and human behavior, using it to paint vivid characters set amidst nations in turmoil or societies with riveting secrets. Exciting, challenging, and passionate, her novels take the reader upon dire adventures while exploring deep human truths. In 2016, she was the recipient of the Next Generation Indie Book Awards Finalist medal for her dark fantasy "Tears". She was also longlisted for the 2016 Online Writing Tips Short Fiction Prize for her dark fairytale "The Man in White".

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blackmark 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Well written and the characters engage your imagination!
Anonymous 7 months ago
I couldn’t put it down. I am excited to start the next book in the series and see what happens next!
Anonymous 8 months ago
I+thoroughly+enjoyed+this+book.+++The+author+nailed+it+in+the+fantasy+adventure.+Great+read+and+I+am+looking+forward+to+the+next+book+in+the+series.
Anonymous 11 months ago
4.5 stars! Great read, very well written and told. Kudos. DMB
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+freakin+loved+this+book.+I+am+on+to+the+2nd+one+RIGHT+NOW%21+If+you+love+epic+novels+and+Game+of+Thrones%2C+you%27re+gonna+love+this%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just+the+first+book%2C+with+more+questions+than+answers.+Hints+of+things+coming%0Athat+remind+me+of+Robert+Jordan%2C+or+George+RR+Martin.+A+whole+new+world++created+for+reading+adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This+is+interesting+and+mostly+fast-paced.+However%2C+I+did+find+it+difficult+to+understand+sometimes%2C+just+because+of+the+style+of+writing.+It%27s+needlessly+wordy+also%2C+but+that+didn%27t++take+away+from+the+depth+of+the+story.+I+recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The people are quite believable and interesting. You will be surprised at who is the bad guy and who is the good guy for sure!! Read it and enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Adventure and thrill love heartache
Tpbacon More than 1 year ago
From page one I couldn’t put this book down. Carlson has created a world and characters that you easily get lost in. I have always been a fan of epic fantasy from Tolkien to Robert Jordan and Carlson with The Kingsmen Chronicles stands toe to toe with them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everything you could want in a fantasy book!!!!
Anonymous 11 months ago
t