Blood in the Soil: A True Tale of Racism, Sex, and Murder in the South

Blood in the Soil: A True Tale of Racism, Sex, and Murder in the South

by Carole Townsend

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $17.99 Save 39% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 39%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Blood in the Soil: A True Tale of Racism, Sex, and Murder in the South by Carole Townsend

The first book about the investigation into the attempted murder of Hustler magazine publisher Larry Flynt—and the serial killer who shot him.
In Gwinnett County, Georgia, in 1978, Larry Flynt and his attorney were shot and injured on their way back to court during an obscenity trial.
This true account of the crime is told alternately from Det. J. Michael Cowart’s perspective and chronologically following the shooter’s life from childhood through his execution. The monster that was Joseph Paul Franklin was the result of a perfect storm of circumstances, which included poverty, cruel abuse as a child, the detestation and mistrust between blacks and whites, integration, and the hate groups that operated and recruited openly. Cowart tells the story of how his attempts to befriend Franklin gave him the information he needed to prosecute the case—and gave him astonishing insight into many of Franklin’s other cold-blooded killings and crimes, and his twisted justification for them.
Blood in the Soil details with stark honesty the terrible truths that characterized the South during the volatility of the sixties and seventies, and the ugly reality that lay just beneath its veneer of warm hospitality.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781634507523
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication date: 04/12/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 232
Sales rank: 255,985
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

Carole Townsend is a correspondent and columnist for the Gwinnett Citizen newspaper and the author of Magnolias, Sweet Tea, and Exhaust. She resides in Atlanta, Georgia.

Table of Contents

Author's Note ix

Prologue xiii

Chapter 1 Jesus Christ Takes Care of Business (1978) 1

Chapter 2 Opening the Box (2014) 5

Chapter 3 Preparing for Judgment Day (1978) 9

Chapter 4 The Letter (1983) 18

Chapter 5 The Alabama Soil (1950s and 1960s) 24

Chapter 6 Inside the Belly of the Beast (1983) 35

Chapter 7 The Disappearing Boy, the Emerging Man (mid 1960s-1970s) 45

Chapter 8 A Friend in Need (early 1980s) 62

Chapter 9 Peaches, Vengeance and the Head of the Snake (1978) 67

Chapter 10 The Trial 76

Chapter 11 Fertile Soil 86

Chapter 12 Blood and Justice 91

Chapter 13 Dancing with the Devil (1983) 101

Chapter 14 Smoke, Mirrors, and Conspiracies 110

Chapter 15 Up is Down, and Down is Up (1984) 123

Chapter 16 The Stumble (1980) 129

Chapter 17 Making Good on a Promise (1983-1984) 146

Chapter 18 A Second Visit (1984) 160

Chapter 19 The Fall (1980) 165

Chapter 20 A Tangled Web (1983) 174

Chapter 21 Our Sins Come Home to Roost 180

Chapter 22 Put to Rest (2013) 185

Chapter 23 Back to the Basement (2014) 198

Epilogue 203

Research Sources 208

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews