Blood Upon the Sands

Blood Upon the Sands

by Sheldon Charles

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, May 28

Overview

Can an American journalist and a Kuwaiti horse breeder unravel a sadistic mercenary’s conspiracy before he brings bloodshed and violence against a stateless, discriminated population?

Writer Evan Davis is back in Blood Upon the Sands a political thriller from bestselling author Sheldon Charles. This time, work takes him to Kuwait under the patronage of affluent horse breeder Hamad Al-Bourisli. Hired to write about modern culture in Kuwait, he finds his calling in the work, as well as kinship with Hamad and intimacy with his beautiful cultural liaison, Najila.

When anonymous reports are left in his quarters, Evan discovers disturbing truths about the stateless Bedoon population. Since the earliest days of the country’s independence, they’ve faced underlying long-term discrimination from the Kuwaiti government which has been largely hidden and ignored for decades. Meanwhile, Maksim Bondreovich, an ex-KGB agent turned mercenary, begins manipulating the political climate in Kuwait to influence public opinion further against the Bedoon. Under the codename Shayṭān, he spreads terror and chaos across the country while framing Bedoon citizens for the atrocities.

Time is running out before Shayṭān makes his biggest play yet – bombing the Hotel Sultana and placing the blame solely on the disenfranchised Bedoon population. As rising racism and public dissent become more obvious, will Evan go against his friend and employer to see the truth come to light?

As the narrative weaves real-world history and current events seamlessly into an action thriller, Blood Upon the Sands is a gripping story of good men fighting to reveal truth amid rising chaos and hate.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781733958806
Publisher: Valkyrie Spirit Publishing
Publication date: 04/14/2019
Series: Evan Davis Tale , #2
Pages: 408
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.91(d)

About the Author

Sheldon Charles is a decorated Air Force veteran, whose career has taken him around the globe, and given his writing a unique international flair. He is the author of Three Paperclips & a Grey Scarf, Blood Upon the Sands and From Within the Firebird's Nest. His last book (From Within the Firebird's Nest, the third book in the Evan Davis Trilogy) held the Number One Bestseller spot for Russian Historical Fiction, and was in the Top Ten for War Fiction, for 2018. Sheldon currently resides in Michigan.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blood Upon the Sands 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Piaras 19 days ago
An accomplished thriller that’s full of pace, intrigue, and suspense. Blood Upon the Sands by Sheldon Charles is a wonderfully written and richly descriptive novel with brilliantly drawn characters. The author weaves a well-crafted political thriller with intriguing twists and turns that will captivate the reader from the first page to the last. Skillfully constructed and set ‘against the bloody backdrop of a country simmering with racial tension’, this book will have you on the edge of your seat! This suspense thriller takes recent real-world history to develop a plot filled with mystery and intrigue. The novel delivers all the excitement of a great thriller while also delving into provocative themes. It’s a masterful tale centered around the current situation of Kuwait’s Bedoon population. I enjoyed the story, character development, and dialogue. There were plenty of plot twists that I didn’t see coming and that added to the book’s mystique. When I stopped reading to work, I found myself wondering what happened in the book, and replaying parts of the novel in my head to see if I could figure more out. It has been a while since I enjoyed a book this much. It’s a well-written thriller with perfect pacing. Not much is as it appears here, which is just the way fans of the Mystery, Thriller, and Suspense will want it. This was a fascinating and captivating read that had me immersed from the beginning. The story flowed from scene to scene with ease, and the author shows exceptional ability when it comes to storytelling. There are plenty of attention-grabbing moments in this page-turner that will take the reader on a gripping journey. There’s no doubt that Blood Upon the Sands is an exceptionally well-written book. However, it must be said that this story is not for the faint-hearted or easily offended. The author’s script at times is razor-sharp and will cut deep into the emotions of its reader. There are scenes of a sexual nature with extreme violence. Nevertheless, the themes and outcome are just as affecting in the arresting contemporary landscape of Middle Eastern affairs. Finally, it’s well worth checking out the other books in this series: FROM WITHIN THE FIREBIRD’S NEST and THREE PAPERCLIPS & A GREY SCARF. Great writing and great storytelling. Fans of Espionage and Political Thrillers will not be disappointed.