Bloodline: You Spend Enough Time in Hell You Get the Feeling You Belong

Bloodline: You Spend Enough Time in Hell You Get the Feeling You Belong

Paperback(New Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Torn from an idyllic life with a loving, extended family in 1960’s Alabama, young Johnny Turnipseed found himself in Minneapolis, Minnesota with a father he no longer recognized and empty cupboards.  A.C. Turnipseed’s alcoholism and womanizing started a chain reaction of poverty, violence, addiction and despair that nearly destroyed three generations.

From lost and frightened little boy to gang leader, drug dealer and pimp to one of the nation’s most respected pioneers of community restoration, John Turnipseed’s story of transformation and restoration is told with unflinching honesty and contagious hope.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781424549382
Publisher: BroadStreet Publishing Group, LLC
Publication date: 10/01/2014
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

John Turnipseed, a former gang leader and drug dealer, is a community leader, pastor, speaker, facilitator, and has written parenting curriculum. For more than 15 years, John was the director of the Center for Fathering at Urban Ventures in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and was promoted to vice president in 2014. Overcoming the deadly effects of a violent, absent father and the downward spiral of gang life, John is passionate about helping rebuild relationships and successful living.

Cecil Murphey has written and co-written more than 135 books, including the New York Times bestseller 90 Minutes in Heaven with Don Piper and Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story with Dr. Ben Carson. His books have sold in the millions and have brought hope and encouragement to countless people around the world.

Table of Contents

Foreword Erwin Raphael McManus 11

1 Bloodline 15

2 The Curse Begins 19

3 A Life of Crime 23

4 Growing in Crime 28

5 Preparing for Bigger Things 34

6 Following Criminal Footsteps 40

7 Father Figures and Fatherhood 46

8 Teaching Dad a Lesson 50

9 Surviving St. Cloud 55

10 The Black Brotherhood Cultural Development Organization 59

11 Power Challenge 63

12 Falsely Accused 67

13 Falling in Love 72

14 Stupid Mistakes 78

15 Big Frank 83

16 Almost Killed 89

17 Stillwater and Dan Taylor 93

18 Learning Computers 100

19 The Criminal Pattern Continues 105

20 The Shooting of Little Johnny 112

21 Caught 123

22 The Confession 127

23 No Longer Alone 131

24 The Sentence 135

25 The Workhouse and Marriage 141

26 Copycat Robberies 147

27 Hiccups and Growth 152

28 Temper Troubles 155

29 MAD DADS 159

30 The New John Turnipseed 163

31 Services and Successes 168

32 Safe Passage 173

33 Sometimes We Fail 178

34 Deep Disappointments 183

35 Sons and Grandsons 189

36 The Family Destroyed 194

37 A Grave Injustice 197

38 A Few More Facts 203

39 A Changed Man 208

40 A Letter from Johnny 211

41 Final Thoughts 214

Now What Do I Do? by Art Erickson 219

Acknowledgments 221

About the Authors 223

Resources for Help and Hope 224

Customer Reviews