Bloody Chester

Bloody Chester

Paperback(First Edition)

$12.93 $18.99 Save 32% Current price is $12.93, Original price is $18.99. You Save 32%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, May 28

Overview

A deliciously gruesome horror tale set in the old west.

This isn't John Wayne's heroic old west.

This is the real deal: a filthy, disease-ridden frontier populated by losers, lunatics, and murderers. And when you're a skinny teenager with no family and a name like Chester Kates, your options are limited. It's stand up and fight or roll over and die, so Chester, aka "Lady Kate," is set to fight until it kills him.

It isn't much of a life, but it's at least straightforward.

Until things go all cockeyed when Chester is hired to ride his horse (also named Chester) to a ghost town and burn it to the ground. Except the ghost town doesn't just boast a tidy collection of mangled corpses: it also has three living inhabitants . . . who won't be budged. But Chester's been hired for a job, and he'll be damned if he doesn't burn the town to the last cinder.

Thing is, he may just be damned if he does.

This horror-Western-mystery graphic novel will send a thrill—and a chill—down your spine. Funny, fascinating, and downright horrible, this is a book that keeps you turning the pages.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781596431003
Publisher: First Second
Publication date: 07/03/2012
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.50(d)
Lexile: GN350L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

JT Petty is an American film director, author, and video game writer. He currently resides in Brooklyn, New York.

Hilary Florido‘s self-published mini-comics have been listed in the 2009 and 2010 Best American Comics. She works as a storyboarder on The Cartoon Network's "The Regular Show."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bloody Chester 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
lostinalibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bloody Chester is a graphic novel set in the old west.Chester Kates is a skinny young cowboy with a name just ripe for bullying and very little hope. Given his limited options, when he is offered a job to ride into a town destroyed by a strange plague and burn it down, he jumps at it. Unfortunately, the town isn't quite as deserted as it's supposed to be and rounding up the survivors won't be easy.Not surprising given the title, Bloody Chester is very violent and very bloody. It is also a lot of fun. But be warned - along with the no-holds- barred take-no-prisoners attitude of the old west, Petty also recreates the rather colourful language and, worse, the easy racism that flourished during the period. Given the latter, I would suggest that parents may not want to let their young teens read it.
momgamerwriter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Originally Reviewed by Diayll(me):Mother/Gamer/WriterParent Rating: 1 out of 5 ControllersRegular Rating: 2 out of 5 ControllersReview Source: NetGalleyThis review is going to be atypical from any review I have previously written. I am going to do 2 quick rundown reviews of this book because it definitely sparked something in me I can¿t release until everyone hears it. One review will be from a parent¿s perspective and the other as an adult reader. I hope this helps someone make an informed decision about the types of books we let our children read and the types of books we read as adults.Parents Perspective:Well, it¿s rare that I write a negative review. I¿m not even sure this review is entirely negative, maybe it¿s a tad bit cynical, but I feel it has to be said. Blood Chester is one of those graphic novels you get completely excited for and then, all of a sudden it takes a turn you don¿t expect leaving your mouth half open in a ¿WTF¿ expression. Yes, that happened to me at one point in Bloody Chester. I literally had to stop, and reread the same passage ten times to make sure I read it right. Want to know what I¿m talking about?Here take a look (warning graphic language below):(Spoiler can be seen on my Website)Maybe I am being a little sensitive. Maybe I should take it in the context that it was written, I mean the story does take place during the ¿old west¿. However, given the fact this book is suggested to be RECOMMENDED for TEENS ages 14-18 (aka young adults), I find this type of language UNACCEPTABLE! And this is not the only thing I found disturbing about Bloody Chester. It¿s riddled with strong (and by that I mean the ¿F¿ word and other various curse words) in just about every other frame. Even ¿GodD#$%¿ is in there. How can a graphic novel or any book for that matter be considered young adult with that much cursing? Clearly this book should be labeled as Adult by Barnes & Noble, Amazon, and the Book Depository. Just because there is no sexual content does not mean it¿s not an Adult book. I would never, let my fifteen year old sister read this book. Even though I consider her to be mature for her age, I do draw the line on some things and this happens to be one of them. We grew up in a small, predominately white southern town and this type of language is nothing new to either of us. However, why should I subject her to racial slurs and foul language when I don¿t have to? I¿m sure she gets enough of that on TV.As a parent I strongly recommend, no I urge you not to let your kids read Bloody Chester. It¿s violent, gruesome, has racial innuendos, and a ton of language I can¿t see anyone letting a fourteen year old read.Parents Grade:1 out of 5 ControllersAdult Perspective:Now, as an adult who generally loves violent and gruesome stories, Bloody Chester does not disappoint. It¿s the tale of Chester, aka Lady Kate, and his misadventures. When I first started reading this graphic novel, it seemed as though Chester was having a really, really bad day. Every time he turned around he was getting pounded in the face by some guys¿ large fist. I did feel sorry for him at one point because there was no clear indication on why he was the barer of such misery. It just seemed to be the thing to do in this old western town. It wasn¿t until Chester is given the task of burning an entire town to the ground that he has the chance to redeem himself. And like a moth to a flame, I found myself rooting for Chester and hoping he would do the right thing.Without giving away the plot, Chester does something at the very end of the story that made me cringe. Two wrongs don¿t make a right. I feel that every decision Chester made was just wrong, wrong, and wrong. Maybe Petty didn¿t want us to like Chester. Maybe he wanted us to hate his guts. Whatever the case and whatever the reason, by the end of the story I loathed Chester with a passion. I guess he did what he felt was best to save himself, but he obviously is amoral and has no feelings or
BookSakeBlogspot More than 1 year ago
Graphic Novel Review (ARC) by Chris I was a little confused by this book. The whole time I was reading it I was waiting for something horrific or spooky to happen, but it never really does. With the exception of a few moments it all feels pretty mundane. Since I was looking forward to something supernatural, it was a bit of a let down. Taken at face value, it’s a decent western. It has that trademark slow build and a cast of screwy characters all haunted by their past. The art, while good, felt a bit off when compared to the story. The art is open and bright which doesn’t sell the dark, oppressive story. It’s not something that supposed to be for the kids, so I don’t know if it was the right art choice. The is the second First Second book that has sold me on ‘supernatural’ and not delivered but still delivered an interesting, if small, story. If you are a fan of the western in the vein of ‘Unforgiven’ or ‘True Grit’ this may be right up your alley. Book Rating: 3/5 Graphic Novel Review (ARC) by Kole This was a very surprising read for me, in a good way. I was expecting an average book that would take me a little bit to get through, but I got a lot more. The art was great and refreshing from the art that I’ve seen recently, and it was very well written. I noticed that the author had also written for Splinter Cell, and was surprised to see that, considering the two different style. I guess that shows that the author has a really good range. I was confused with the story in the beginning, but I understand that was the point of the book. I felt like the story had a little bit of a rough start, but after a while I got into it very easily. The characters are great and varied, and you’ll have feelings for them. The ending left a little bit more to be desired but I’m assuming there’s another on the way. I sure hope so, because I definitely want more. Book Rating: 5/5