Blowing the Fuse: 29 R&B Classics That Rocked the Jukebox in 1952

Blowing the Fuse: 29 R&B Classics That Rocked the Jukebox in 1952


$26.09 $28.99 Save 10% Current price is $26.09, Original price is $28.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Blowing the Fuse: 29 R&B Classics That Rocked the Jukebox in 1952

Blowing the Fuse is a killer series of compilation CDs issued by Germany's premier archivist label, Bear Family. Subtitled "R&B Classics That Rocked the Jukebox, each volume is compiled by year. 1952 was a boom year for jukeboxes across the United States. This volume contains 29 affirmed classics of the early postwar years. The more well-known tunes of the era are given great balance by some nearly forgotten gems that are juxtaposed in the brilliant sequencing -- by producer Dave "Daddy Cool" Booth. Big Joe Turner and Van "Piano Man" Walls open the set with "The Chill Is On," followed by the Swallows doing "It Ain't the Meat." B.B. King's classic "3 O'Clock Blues," precedes one of those rather obscure, but deeply satisfying cuts: Johnny Greer's "Got You on My Mind." Other fine tracks from the margins include Varetta Dillard's "Easy, Easy Baby," the Four Blazes "Mary Jo," Willie Mabon & His Combo's "I Don't Know," and the Griffin Brothers Orchestra whose "Weepin' and Cryin'" is one of the finest cuts on the entire collection. Other notables here range from Ruth Brown and Little Walter to Jimmy Forrest and Dinah Washington and Johnny Ace. The package is beautiful with Colin Escott's liner notes detailing every cut, accompanied by photographs and a lovely digipack. Sound quality is as good as it can be for archival material, making this a fine introduction to postwar R&B for the novice and a killer chronological listen for the connoisseur.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2005
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127167071
catalogNumber: 16707
Rank: 111369

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tommy Braden   Vocals

Technical Credits

Tiny Bradshaw   Composer
Willie Mabon   Composer
Big Joe Turner   Composer
Lloyd Price   Composer
Jimmy Forrest   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Marie Adams   Composer
Bennie Benjamin   Composer
Howard Biggs   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes
Henry Glover   Composer
Elmore James   Composer
B.B. King   Composer
L. Mann   Composer
Don Robey   Composer
Mike Stoller   Composer
Rudy Toombs   Composer
Billy Ward   Composer
George David Weiss   Composer
L. Williams   Composer
Young   Composer
D. James   Composer
Arthur Sizemore   Composer
Dave Booth   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer,Tape Research,Discographical Information
Richard Weize   Tape Research
Richard Henry   Composer
Walter Jacobs   Composer
George A. Little   Composer
Lois Mann   Composer
Rose Marks   Composer
James Ricks   Composer
Victor Pearlin   Tape Research
Erich Hülsenbeck   Photo Restoration,Photo Scanning
Joe "Cornbread" Thomas   Composer
Andreas Merck   Photo Scanning
Que Martyn   Composer
Tanja Hastedt   Artwork,Photo Restoration

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews