Blue Notes

Blue Notes

by Carrie Lofty
4.0 7

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty

For fans of Jamie McGuire and S.C. Stephens, a sizzling new adult novel featuring the tumultuous relationship between a young piano prodigy and a reluctant billionaire playboy—set against the vibrant backdrop of a New Orleans college campus.

Carrie Lofty brings her “exciting, sensual” (RT Book Reviews ) romantic storytelling to a sizzling new adult novel of a gifted pianist with a troubled past, the enigmatic stranger who unlocks her secrets, and sultry nights of passion in the Big Easy.

A piano prodigy on a scholarship to a prestigious New Orleans university, Keeley Chambers is finally striking out on her own after a roving life dictated by her criminal parents. Her soulful, brilliant, fiery improvisations tear through her like a storm but are played for an audience of one: herself. However, sinfully handsome Jude Villars refuses to abandon Keeley to her private world and calls her out on her fear of performing in public. The irreverent, seductive billionaire playboy awakens Keeley to the blissful pleasures of letting go as he tempts her into the spotlight of the city’s hottest clubs. Yet Jude has secrets of his own and pain that no one but Keeley recognizes. Will revealing themselves as they really are be too great a risk? Or will the truth make their tumultuous connection hotter and more irresistible than ever?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476706917
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 05/06/2014
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 1,212,541
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Carrie Lofty holds a Masters degree in history, which she has put to good use as an award-winning historical romance writer (Starlight and His Very Own Girl) and lecturer on the craft of writing. An active member of the Chicago North and Wisconsin chapters of Romance Writers of America, she’s also a part-time movie buff, former belly dancer, and wannabe choral singer. She lives outside of Chicago with her husband and two daughters.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blue Notes 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
GMC11 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The story hooked me from the beginning. There's a lot of emotion in this book and colorful, well-drawn characters. You can be sure I'm looking for more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely love this book! Keeley and Jude kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading. I wish there was more!
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
This was a lovely, thought-provoking, artistic novel, with some hot, sexy billionaire thrown in for good measure! I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Keeley’s personal journey from lost foster kid to budding pianist. It was heartrending at times, and flustering at times, and just a downright good story, even without the added “education”. I only wish their had been a soundtrack to go with it, because the one in my head, no doubt, did it no justice. The imagery is beautiful, and so detailed you can see the performances as you’re reading them. They become so real it’s hard not to hear the music and feel what she’s feeling. Jude is exactly like what you’d hope a secretive billionaire would be like, but deep down, you know he is just a dream of romance readers everywhere. That doesn’t hurt the story though. Hot, sexy, experienced, and he wants to “teach” Keeley everything she needs to know about life. And what a teacher he is! Definitely worth a read, and one you will not regret! Received for an honest review. Rating: 4 HEAT Rating: Hot Reviewed By: Daysie W. Review Courtesy of: My Book Addictions and More
TheAutumnReview More than 1 year ago
This is one of those reviews where I'm not quite sure what I want to say about the book. What I can say, is that this was a book that I was anxious to read. The blurb grabbed me and I liked the cover. As I started reading, I kept waiting and waiting to get hooked, but...it didn't quite happen. I didn't dislike it. In fact, I enjoyed getting to know the characters and I felt that Keely's back story was incredibly interesting. And I liked Jude and his sister. I felt that the story had a lot of potential, but there was just something missing for me. I would have liked to have seen a stronger connection between Jude and Keely. There was passion, but long term HEA potential? I wasn't quite sold. So, I leave you with this thought, there were many aspects to the story that I did like. It held my interest enough to finish the book. It wasn't a total win for me, but it might be the right book for you.  Quotes: ~"A whole lot of good memories got swallowed by the bad. But you, sugar...You're making it feel brand new."-pg 100 ~"I've been thinking about you, sleepless over you. I made something complicated out of something pure and full of potential."-pg 229 ~"I imagine sometimes..." he says, before breaking off. I have to pinch the back of his hand where it rests at my waist. "Sometimes I imagine you keep those deep kisses with you. That is anyone lifted your hair, they'd see that I'd taken you."-pg 279
jukelley More than 1 year ago
I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Blue Notes is a stand-alone, NA, contemporary novel and the first I have read by Carrie Lofty. I had no idea what to expect going into this book, and was surprised at how much I loved it. This is the story of Keeley, a 21 year old, piano prodigy, beginning her junior year in college as a transfer student at Tulane University in New Orleans, LA. This is definitely a love story, and a steamy one at that. But, it is also a story of a young girl, overcoming a ton of baggage and finding herself. I thoroughly enjoyed the love story and the toe-tingling that came with it. However, the growth and development of Keeley was what made the biggest impression on me. I love to read a strong female lead. It feels like we get so little of that lately. Keeley starts off as the young, awkward, weak character, which made me a little disappointed in the beginning. She ends up as the strong woman that I wanted her to be…not dependent on a man for her self-worth and strength, but standing on her own two feet, facing the world and what it throws at her. She’s afraid, but she is brave. I loved her. Ms. Lofty did a fantastic job of showing how moving music can be, both for the musician and the listener. I could feel the passion seeping from the page as I read the sections where Keeley was composing. “For once, while composing, I’m not insensate and possessed. I’m telling tales about being scared and in pain. About being lonely. About rain drenched nights and being welcomed into a shelter from the storm. I’m crying with parts of my soul, and screaming, and shaking from fears that I’ll never be able to say with words. Who needs words when eighty-eight keys are more eloquent and far more beautiful?” I can almost hear the music drifting off the pages throughout this book, and I loved the way music was utilized. I really loved the interactions between Keeley and her roommate, Janissa, and especially her mentee, Adelaide. Complete opposites, the way Keeley and Adelaide were able to help each other become better musicians was so sweet to watch. It was moving to watch the different characters overcome grief and/or the things that life had pounded them with and learn to trust others…and to trust themselves in some cases. Overall, this was a really good read. There were some intense scenes and some beautifully worded scenes. There were some sad times and some happy times. There was weakness, growth, conquering of fears, and maturing, pretty much everything you could ask for with some steamy, tension filled scenes on top. Give it a try.
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog I’ve always loved everything Carrie Lofty writes, but BLUE NOTES is a new genre.  Different genres also translate into different writing styles and BLUE NOTES, as much as I wanted to love it, it didn’t quite hit the mark for me in some aspects.  But I tend to have some issues with new adult genre characters. The narration felt a bit jerky at times, which kept throwing off my concentration in the story.  Then some of my usual new adult problems were there, as I mentioned before.  The heroine can be a bit immature at times, especially towards the end.  She’s had a rough past and I was expecting her to be a bit more grown up.  There was a misunderstanding that had me worried for a while that would be dragged on.  Luckily it didn’t. I usually love stories that center around music, there’s just an intensity to them that feels very real to me and involves you.  That part of this story I really enjoyed.  Keeley not only plays piano, but composes music.  Seeing her get lost in the moment while she’s composing was quite enjoyable and it fit with some of the more strange quirks of he personality. All that being said, I loved the hero.  Cajun and sexy, he’s older than Keeley, he’s refined.  He’s a business man.  But he’s also young and playful enough when going after Keeley.  I was just as enthralled with him as Keeley was.  She doesn’t know at first who he is and their banter and chemistry is palpable from the beginning.  I wouldn’t call them enemies to lovers but they do start off on the wrong foot.  But Jude was fast at winning her over.  She’s just that refreshing spark he needed in his life of commitments and responsibilities. And did I mention Jude is hot?  As in physically and knowing what to do with that physic?  Yeah, he’s got moves!  My absolute favorite part of this book is the sexual tension.  That loss of inhibitions.  Testing the waters and taking things a step farther. While there were some bumps in the road, I enjoyed my time with Jude and Keeley!
WorldsCollide More than 1 year ago
A deep, emotional, and absolutely lovely New Adult romance, Blue Notes was a wonderful read. I really liked this book. It was a sweet, romantic, and truly enjoyable read. Keeley was a wonderful heroine. She went through a lot and, though it made her withdrawn, it also made her very resilient and strong. I loved how, in her own quiet way, she refused to take crap from anyone, even a super attractive billionaire. She was lovely and I really liked her. Jude was also great. I'll be honest, he could be an ass at times. But, he could also be very sweet and, as the book went on, we learn more about his past and why he acted closed off. He was very determined and protective of those he loved. Overall, I really liked him. The romance was lovely. Keeley and Jude were great together. I wasn't totally feeling it, though, because both Keeley and Jude were so hesitant. But, when they finally let go, they were sweet together. Not to mention the sizzling chemistry between the. I thought they were a wonderful couple. The plot was well paced and, though I wasn't totally hooked, the was kept interested the entire way through. I really liked how the emotions in this book were portrayed, in a way that was deep and really came across as I was reading. I enjoyed the story and the ending was perfect. Blue Notes was a wonderful New Adult romance. I really liked this lovely read, with all the emotions, secrets, and romance. Romance lovers, this is a book worth checking out. *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review