Blue Spirits [Bonus Tracks]

Blue Spirits [Bonus Tracks]

by Freddie HubbardFreddie Hubbard

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 22


This CD, Freddie Hubbard's last Blue Note release of the 1960s (with the exception of the blowing session The Night of the Cookers), adds two numbers to the original LP program and features the great trumpeter in three challenging settings ranging from a sextet to an octet. Hubbard uses such sidemen as altoist James Spaulding, tenors Joe Henderson and Hank Mobley, the euphonium of Kiane Zawadi, pianists Harold Mabern, McCoy Tyner and Herbie Hancock, bassists Larry Ridley, Bob Cranshaw and Reggie Workman, drummers Clifford Jarvis, Pete La Roca and Elvin Jones, the congas of Big Black, and on one song, bassoonist Hosea Taylor. The set is comprised of seven diverse Hubbard originals and, even though none of the songs caught on to become standards, the music is quite challenging and fairly memorable. The 2004 Rudy Van Gelder edition features completely remastered sound, and the addition of two bonus tracks recorded in 1966, a year after the album sessions. "The Melting Pot" and "True Colors" feature a third lineup, that includes tenorman Joe Henderson, Herbie Hancock, saxophonist and bassoonist Hosea Taylor, Reggie Workman on bass, and Elvin Jones on drums.~ Scott Yanow and Thom Jurek

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/2004
Label: Blue Note Records
UPC: 0724359431727
catalogNumber: 94317
Rank: 62963


  1. Soul Surge
  2. Blue Spirits
  3. Outer Forces
  4. Cunga Black
  5. Jodo
  6. The Melting Pot
  7. True Colors

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Freddie Hubbard   Primary Artist,Trumpet
Herbie Hancock   Piano,Celeste
Joe Henderson   Tenor Saxophone
Elvin Jones   Drums
Pete La Roca   Drums
Hank Mobley   Tenor Saxophone
James Spaulding   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Bob Cranshaw   Bass
Larry Ridley   Bass
Clifford Jarvis   Drums
Kiane Zawadi   Euphonium
Big Black   Conga
McCoy Tyner   Piano
Harold Mabern   Piano
Reggie Workman   Bass
Hosea Taylor   Bassoon

Technical Credits

Steve Cropper   Composer
Micaela Boland   Art Direction
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Composer
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer
Freddie Hubbard   Composer
Nat Hentoff   Liner Notes
Booker T. Jones   Composer
Alfred Lion   Producer,Audio Production
Francis Wolff   Cover Photo
Bob Blumenthal   Liner Notes
Al Jackson   Composer
Reid Miles   Cover Design

Customer Reviews