Bob Dylan in the '80s, Vol. 1

Bob Dylan in the '80s, Vol. 1


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Bob Dylan in the '80s, Vol. 1

Bob Dylan opened the '80s as a born-again Christian and closed the decade with Oh Mercy, a critical comeback that rejuvenated his career. In between came a decade in the wilderness, where he found religion and lost it, went with the flow of MTV, hit the road with Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers and the Grateful Dead, anchored the Traveling Wilburys supergroup, and released seven studio albums while he banked a bunch of unreleased material that had drifted out over the years. Dylan had some hits along the way -- 1983's Infidels and 1985's Empire Burlesque both went gold -- but this is generally considered an unfocused era of excess. Produced by Jesse Lauter and Sean O'Brien, the 2014 tribute Bob Dylan in the '80s: Vol. 1 attempts to kick-start conversations by offering 17 covers from this neglected decade by a bunch of modern indie artists (the expanded digital and vinly versions contain another seven songs). Apart from Infidels, Dylan's '80s singles are avoided, as are several '80s songs that are often covered ("Emotionally Yours," selections from 1989's acclaimed Oh Mercy, which is strangely and deliberately side-stepped), and 1990's Under the Red Sky is grandfathered in, likely because it's the last collection of original tunes Dylan would produce until 1997 (his time in the wilderness lasted much longer than a decade, but the early '90s were devoted to folk covers and live albums). This doesn't mean the album isn't anchored by relatively familiar songs: Craig Finn of the Hold Steady does a straightforward "Sweetheart Like You," Built to Spill appealingly lurch their way through "Jokerman," Dawn Landes & Bonnie "Prince" Billy sweetly sing "Dark Eyes," and Yellowbirds pay effective homage to the ethereal "Series of Dreams." Although Aaron Freeman's "Wiggle Wiggle" winks at the bad taste that peppered these '80s albums -- he arranges it as an early Ween tune, then has the sense of humor to bring in Slash for a cameo, just like Bob did on the original -- this is an earnest bunch of covers, dedicated to bringing these songs back into the Dylan canon. Most versions pull off the nifty trick of being faithful to Dylan's and their act's own sound. Glen Hansard turns "Pressing On" into something that'd fit on the Once soundtrack; Lucius gives "When the Night Comes Falling from the Sky" a new wave grandeur; Langhorne Slim & the Law kick up dust on "Got My Mind Made Up"; Blitzen Trapper split the difference between past and present on "Unbelievable"; Deer Tick amble through a calypso on "Night After Night," and Tea Leaf Green thread in polyrhythms throughout "Waiting to Get Beat." Some of these versions work better than others, but they're all imaginative and worthy and, best of all, they prove the producers' thesis that there is a lot to discover within Dylan's '80s catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/25/2014
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882196028
catalogNumber: 2196028

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Moore   Banjo,Piano,Vocals
Dave Dreiwitz   Bass
Slash   Guitar
Doug Martsch   Guitar,Vocals
Todd Dunnigan   Organ
Brett Netson   Guitar
Brad Albetta   Bass
Aaron Freeman   Guitar,Vocals
Craig Finn   Vocals
Reggie Watts   Synthesizer,Vocals
Thomas Bartlett   Organ,Piano
Glen Hansard   Guitar,Vocals
Joe Russo   Drums
Bonnie "Prince" Billy   Vocals
Jason Albertini   Bass
Dawn Landes   Guitar,Vocals
Scott Metzger   Guitar
Carl Broemel   Bass,Guitar,Steel Guitar,Vocals
Marco Benevento   Synthesizer,Piano,Mellotron,Wurlitzer
Sam Cohen   Guitar,Vocals
Matt Kilmer   Percussion
Rob Crowell   Keyboards
Jim Roth   Guitar
Malachi DeLorenzo   Drums,Vocals
Bo Koster   Piano,Pump Organ
Richard Medek   Drums
Elvis Perkins   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Charango
Josh Clark   Guitar
Trevor Garrod   Flute,Keyboards,Vocals
Brian Kantor   Drums
Lily Costner   Vocals
Pete Lalish   Guitar
Dan Molad   Bass,Percussion,Drums
Reed Mathis   Bass
Scott Rager   Drums
Ian O'Neil   Guitar
Jeff Ratner   Bass,Vocals
Christopher Dale Ryan   Bass
Kyle Resnick   Trumpet
Jesse Lauter   Vocals
Nick Kinsey   Percussion,Drums,Marimbas
Lucas Reynolds   Synthesizer,Tambourine
Tim Wilson   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Dennis Ryan   Drums
Sean O'Brien   Organ,Vocals
Annie Nero   Bass
Holly Laessig   Vocals
Jim White   Drums
John J. McCauley   Guitar,Vocals
Tom Blankenship   Bass
Hannah Cohen   Vocals
Jess Wolfe   Vocals
Cochrane McMillan   Drums
Steve Gere   Drums
Ryan Carbary   Bass,Guitar
Matt Yeates   Percussion,Drums
Andy Burri   Drums,Vocals
Sean Scolnick   Guitar,Vocals
Josh Kaufman   Organ,Guitar

Technical Credits

Bob Dylan   Composer
Tom Petty   Composer
Patrick Dillett   Engineer
Sam Shepard   Composer
Jeremy Black   Producer,Engineer,beats
Doug Martsch   Engineer
Aaron Freeman   Engineer,beats
Reggie Watts   beats
Jason Albertini   Engineer
Dawn Landes   Engineer
Carl Broemel   Engineer
Marco Benevento   Engineer,beats
Brandon Belsky   Guitar Engineer
Sam Cohen   Engineer
Robin C. Hendrickson   Layout
Matt Kilmer   Arranger
Elvis Perkins   Engineer
Jonathan Lethem   Liner Notes
Eric Earley   Arranger,Engineer
Adam Landry   Engineer
Jesse Lauter   Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer,beats
Nick Kinsey   Engineer
Sean O'Brien   Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer
Elijah Thompson   Engineer
Cochrane McMillan   Producer,Engineer
Justin Collins   Engineer
Tusi   Engineer
Steve Gere   Engineer
Murray Trider   Engineer
Ryan Carbary   Engineer
Matt Yeates   Engineer
Jason Ringlestetter   Engineer
Craig Drake   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews