Body of Sin (The Sins Series, #5)

Body of Sin (The Sins Series, #5)

by Eve Silver

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"Dark, intense, passionate...this tale of pain and redemption brilliantly resolves a seemingly unsolvable dilemma..."—Library Journal, *starred review* 

Once the favorite son of the Lord of the Underworld, Lokan Krayl held enviable privileges and powers. Powers that led to a devastating betrayal—murder. 

Resurrected by his immortal brothers, Lokan is still trapped in purgatory. He has no way to contact his family. He has no answers. In order to find the truth about his death and who killed him, he must escape his prison. And there's only one way out: through the twelve gates of his eternal enemy, Osiris. 

But Lokan has help. Bryn Carr, the woman who duped him once before, is his beautiful yet unwanted guide. She's his last hope. Does Lokan dare place his fate--and that of the mortal and immortal worlds—in the hands of the one woman he can never trust? 

For fans of J R Ward, Lara Adrian and Kresley Cole! 

The books in the Sins Series are mature, gritty, dark, violent, sexy and straddle the line between Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance. 

"Silver takes her tortured hero on a desperate and hazardous quest...Silver really hits this one out of the park!"—RT Book Reviews

"...a refreshing change of pace..."—Publishers Weekly

"...gritty, dark and emotional..."—Badass Book Reviews

"I loved every minute of this book, even the parts that made me cry."—Books-n-Kisses

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154208908
Publisher: Eve Silver
Publication date: 05/20/2017
Series: The Sins Series , #5
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 320,907
File size: 667 KB

About the Author

National bestselling author Eve Silver has been praised for her “edgy, steamy, action-packed” books, darkly sexy heroes and take-charge heroines. In 2015 she won the OLA Forest of Reading White Pine Award, and her work was shortlisted for the Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy (2014), and was both an American Bookseller’s Association Best Book for Children and a Canadian Children’s Book Centre Best Books for Kids and Teens (2013). She has garnered starred reviews from Publishers WeeklyLibrary Journal, and Quill and Quire, two RT Book Reviews Reviewers’ Choice Awards, Library Journal’s Best Genre Fiction Award, and she was nominated for the Romance Writers of America® RITA® Award. Eve lives with her husband, two sons, an energetic Airedale terrier and an exuberant border collie/shepherd. And a snake called Ragnar.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Body of Sin 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The Underworld god Sutekh brutally killed his youngest son soul reaper Lokan Krayl who allowed his father to torture and kill him to keep his daughter Dana safe. Lokan's stunned three brothers (Dagan, Alastor and Mal) diligently worked to bring their sibling's lost soul back into his body (see Sins of the Heart, Sins of the Soul and Sins of the Flesh). They succeed, but though alive Lokan remains trapped inside of purgatory. Dana's other parent Bryn Carr fears for her daughter's life. She, like Lokan did with her, hid her paranormal skills from him. Now she needs Lokan to protect Dana from her vicious paternal grandfather. Bryn enters purgatory to escort Lokan through the 12 Gates to earth. The latest Otherkin "Sin" fantasy continues deftly to deploy the Egyptian mythology that is the base of the superb saga. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Lokan fails to escape purgatory and never slows down. The engaging tale works with multiple subplots pushing to conclusion the overarching theme; whether it is the present in which his siblings work on freeing their soulmates, he and Bryn team up; or the past look at when the lead couple met. Although the romance takes a back seat to the action, fans will enjoy the final brother's epic tale. Harriet Klausner
Lavinient on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When I read the first three books in this series, I assumed it was only going to be a trilogy. Actually, at some point I remember the series name being the Otherkin Trilogy. At any rate, I was very excited to see there was going to be a fourth book, and that the hero would be Lokan. He deserved a story, and I wanted to learn more about him and his relationship with the mother of his daughter. I recommend reading the first three books before this one. The events in those books lead up to this one. I don't want to give too many details of the story - it spoils the previous books, I think. I'll just say that Lokan is the son of the Underworld god, Sutekh. He collects souls for his father to feed on. But he is murdered (though it is extremely hard to kill an immortal like him) and now must try to make his way out of the void. He knows who his murderer is, and thinks the murderer will go after his daughter. He will do anything to stop this from happening.Bryn is the mother of Lokan's daughter. Bryn and Lokan's relationship has been very cordial and friendly, but always focused on their daughter. Lokan has not told Bryn he is supernatural. And Bryn has been keeping secrets of her own from Lokan.This was my favorite of the four books. I would have been content with just the three books, but think this fourth book really tied everything together. I loved both the hero and heroine, and rooted for them the whole way. At the start of this book we have no idea how Bryn and Lokan met and how they ended up with a daughter. The flashbacks were a great way for us to see the beginning of their relationship. The Underworld mythology is fascinating and different - makes for an exciting and refreshing read. I hope Silver continues writing in this world; I can see the three brothers introduced in this book being very hero-worthy.ARC provided by NetGalley
shelleyraec on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Having enjoyed Sins of the Flesh, the third book in the Otherkin series, I was looking forward to the release of Body of Sin and was thrilled to get my hands on an ARC (courtesy NetGalley). While the third book worked as a stand alone, I think this one works best with some knowledge of the series. Lokan¿s story had remained untold except through the prism of his brothers search for his murderer and the scattered pieces of his body and soul. Body of Sin gives the series closure that would not have been accomplished if it had only been published as a trilogy as was originally planned.As in the previous books, the relationship between the two protagonists, in this case Lokan and Bryn, is the focus of the story but Silver doesn¿t neglect the plot that is well balanced between action and the development of the romance. I liked Lokan and Bryn¿s story which is quite different from the standard. The pair have a history together which involves a daughter but have never been a couple, and both have kept secrets from each other. The well being of their daughter motivates both characters which adds a layer of poignancy.The Egyptian mythology of the series remains a strength and is more heavily in play here as Lokan and Bryn travel through the void of the underworld in order to effect Lokan¿s escape. Silver¿s detailed world building shines through the entire series.Body of Sin is an engaging and satisfying ending to the Otherkin paranormal romance series (though there are rumours that it may continue focusing on Bryns brothers). Fans won¿t want to miss it¿s release.
KirbyTails More than 1 year ago
I received this book for free from the author for an honest review. The last book in the series revolves around the one brother that we haven't seen much. Lokan Krayl. We find out in the third book that he was murdered. As to who murdered him was a surprise to me. I never guessed it. In it we met who is the heroine for Lokan. Bryn Carr. I always wondered what Byrn was going to be. All of the other heroine's in the other books were all supernatural in some ways. This is was twist also. Lokan is still trapped in purgatory and needs a way out. Little does he know that Byrn is the one that knows the way. I like the interactions between the two. You can tell that before Lokan died, he cared for Byrn. As they travel through the twelve gates of Osiris, they reconnect. I've always loved the theme of this series. The different gods all live in the Underworld in their own territories not able to leave. We see more of the Underworld in this book. Which is always nice. Its a different setting. All in all, this was a great way to end the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
booklover1969 More than 1 year ago
Eve Silver was a new author for me. I really enjoyed this series. I would love to see how Lokan discovered his new powers and what type of powers his daughter has.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago