Bohemian Gospel: A Novel

Bohemian Gospel: A Novel

by Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Hardcover

$23.36 $25.95 Save 10% Current price is $23.36, Original price is $25.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Bohemian Gospel: A Novel by Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Set against the historical reign of the Golden and Iron King, Bohemian Gospel is the remarkable tale of a bold and unusual girl on a quest to uncover her past and define her destiny.Thirteenth-century Bohemia is a dangerous place for a girl, especially one as odd as Mouse, born with unnatural senses and an uncanny intellect. Some call her a witch. Others call her an angel. Even Mouse doesn’t know who—or what—she is. But she means to find out.When young King Ottakar shows up at the Abbey wounded by a traitor's arrow, Mouse breaks church law to save him and then agrees to accompany him back to Prague as his personal healer. Caught in the undertow of court politics at the castle, Ottakar and Mouse find themselves drawn to each other as they work to uncover the threat against him and to unravel the mystery of her past. But when Mouse's unusual gifts give rise to a violence and strength that surprise everyone—especially herself—she is forced to ask herself: Will she be prepared for the future that awaits her? A heart-thumping, highly original tale in the vein of Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian, Bohemian Gospel heralds the arrival of a fresh new voice for historical fiction.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781605989013
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 11/16/2015
Pages: 400
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Dana Chamblee Carpenter is the award-winning author of short fiction that has appeared in the Arkansas Review, Jersey Devil Press, and Maypop. Her debut novel, Bohemian Gospel, won Killer Nashville's 2014 Claymore Award. She teaches creative writing and American Literature at a private university in Nashville, Tennessee.

Justine Eyre is a classically trained actress who has narrated over three hundred audiobooks. With a prestigious Audie Award and four AudioFile Earphones Awards under her belt, Justine is multilingual and is known for her great facility with accents.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bohemian Gospel: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the story. Hated the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great work. It is the first time I have ever known of some one describing the night terrors I have suffered. Although this has nothing to do with dreams the way the things were described in the book makes me feel as if some one else had seen and understood. It brought tears to my eyes. Dispite the horror in the novel I found it a comfort if that makes sense.
AlwaysReadingDC More than 1 year ago
When I started this book, I thought it would be just another historical novel about an unusual girl. I got a nice surprise from this blend of historical fiction, the supernatural, mystery and horror ... overall, a great debut for author Dana Chamblee Carpenter. I eagerly await the second book "The Devil's Bible".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SheilaDeeth More than 1 year ago
In Bohemia, in the thirteenth century, just before the days of the Golden and Iron King, an orphaned girl grows up in a monastery but isn’t allowed to worship, heals but isn’t allowed to reveal her skill, and sees souls. Seeing souls can be a problem if you can’t see your own—a problem that invites a mystery in this tale, as Mouse tries to work out who and what she is—and why she exists. When Mouse helps to heal a dying prince, she finds herself invited to court, where she becomes a part of its mystery and intrigue. Prince and pauper could maybe fall in love, but there are wars to fight, fatherly machinations to overcome, and loyalties to be cemented if a kingdom will grow. Meanwhile, outside the monastery’s protection, horrors that haunted Mouse come to haunt the populace, so there are souls to be saved. The story combines myth with faith, history with horror, and hope with fear, drawing readers deeply into the questions of Mouse’s life. Who were her parents? What is her soul? And where is the line between evil and good? The story’s told with much of its action just slightly off-stage, keeping readers just slightly on-edge until those final pages turn. I found myself wondering how the author could possibly draw this tale to a close, but she does it in one swift masterful and truly unsettling stroke, leaving the reader, perhaps, as haunted as the protagonist. Bohemian Gospel is richly historical, hauntingly Gothic, and powerfully character driven, a rich feast for long dark nights. Disclosure: I was given a copy from the publishers and I offer my honest review.
Mirella More than 1 year ago
The stunning cover of Bohemian Gospel shelters a wonderfully unique tale about a poor young girl of unknown birth circumstances named Mouse who saves King Ottakar's life and swiftly becomes his most trusted personal healer. But Mouse is no ordinary girl. She possesses numerous gifts - the gift of foresight, the gift of healing, the gift of unusual hearing and sight, name a few. She is reluctantly swept into court life with its many political machinations and intrigues. King Ottaker becomes her protector and a forbidden love burgeons between them. The first section of the novel was fast paced and gripping. As the story progressed, the pace did slow a little, but it did still managed to hold my interest. In many ways, Mouse was a sympathetic character, but she had too many "gifts" to make her completely credible. For me, this diminished the historical feel and gave the story a more fantasy/magical atmosphere. For those who are historical fiction purists, this novel many not completely please. However, for those readers who love historical fantasy, then this is definitely a blockbuster! Well written, wonderfully creative, and with plenty of twists and turns, this is one novel that should be on your to be read list. Thank you to the author and publisher. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.