The Book of Laughter and Forgetting

The Book of Laughter and Forgetting

by Milan Kundera


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Rich in its stories, characters, and imaginative range, The Book of Laughter and Forgetting is the novel that brought Milan Kundera his first big international success in the late 1970s. Like all his work, it is valuable for far more than its historical implications. In seven wonderfully integrated parts, different aspects of human existence are magnified and reduced, reordered and emphasized, newly examined, analyzed, and experienced.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780060932145
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/07/1999
Series: Perennial Classics
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 129,175
Product dimensions: 7.94(w) x 5.26(h) x 0.82(d)

About the Author

Milan Kundera is the author of the novels The Joke, Farewell Waltz, Life Is Elsewhere, The Book of Laughter and Forgetting, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, and Immortality, and the short-story collection Laughable Loves—all originally written in Czech. His most recent novels Slowness, Identity, and Ignorance, as well as his nonfiction works The Art of the Novel, Testaments Betrayed, The Curtain, and Encounter, were originally written in French.


Paris, France

Date of Birth:

April 1, 1929

Place of Birth:

Brno, Czechoslovakia


Undergraduate degree in philosophy, Charles University, Prague, 1952

Table of Contents

Author's Note vii
Part One Lost Letters 1(34)
Part Two Mama 35(40)
Part Three The Angels 75(32)
Part Four Lost Letters 107(54)
Part Five Litost 161(52)
Part Six The Angels 213(50)
Part Seven The Border 263

Customer Reviews