Book One of Fate Laughs

Book One of Fate Laughs

by Janus Kane

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


5/6/16 through 5/9/16 get Book Three of Fate Laughs, FREE when you buy Books One and Two. Contact @marchbooks on Twitter or Lizzie March on Facebook after purchase for your coupon code.

Fate Laughs is a dark and disturbing story about a Southern family that gets caught in the backlash of their own hatred and bigotry. The story is set in the late 1900's in the fictional town of Altuna, Georgia.
WARNING: this story contains graphic language and content that some, nay most, will find offensive, but I assure you it is not gratuitous and lessons are learned.
Wanda hates 'niggers and Jews.' She doesn’t have much choice, given her upbringing. Wanda is the 15-year-old by-product of life in the Whitaker household. It is a life that revolves around hatred and the teachings of a local white supremacist group. ‘Fate Laughs’ is a contemporary story that follows the tragic events that befall a Southern family that has made hate the cornerstone of their lives. As perspective cycles between the members of the Whitaker family, they learn what can happen when fate laughs at everything you believe to be true.
Jim Whitaker is the unquestioned patriarch of the family. Life has dealt him some rough blows and he spends a lot of his time trying to forget a very troubling childhood. Now, as an adult, he believes knows just who they are supposed to hate and he steers his family in that direction, with a firm hand. Betty Whitaker loves her husband and children but time has not been her friend. She is broken and resigned to living with Jim’s verbal abuse – until that abuse finally turns physical. Shooter is Wanda’s 17-year-old brother. It is his task to hold the threads of their family together after their father tears it apart. Maimed and bitter, he realizes that ‘The Purity League’ (the white supremacist group that runs their beloved town) may not be the panacea he's been taught to revere.
With the help of their new friends; Amelia – the outsider from the big city and Calub – the son of a local black couple, the Whitaker children tackle the arduous task of rebuilding their lives and holding what’s left of their family together.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940152628944
Publisher: Janus Kane
Publication date: 02/14/2016
Series: Fate Laughs, The Series
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 740,067
File size: 116 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Marchbooks is a small publishing company located in Tennessee. We strive to offer books that are fun, interesting and thought provoking. We currently have two authors: Janus Kane who writes for adults and M.J. Claire who writes for tweens and young adults. Janus Kane makes his primary residence in New York City. Would-be lawyer, sales rep for a multi-line distributor, telemarketer, bartender and Kirby vacuum cleaner salesman are a few of the career paths that Kane has followed. Interesting as they were, they were all dead ends. Ultimately, fate put a pen in his hand. His first novel, 'The Little Insanity' was the result. It is a novel that shines a spotlight on the complexities of relationships and addictions. With the fast pace of a literary soap opera this first novel will be sure to please readers who follow these characters on their path of self-discovery or destruction. The 'Fate Laughs' series is another foray into the lives of a very dysfunctional group of people. This southern family is ruled by an authoritarian husband/father and his philosophy of hate. This toxic environment blows up in their faces in very short order, leaving the children to pick up the pieces. When Janus wrote this novel, we feared that it might be too 'out there', too far fetched, given the themes of bigotry and white supremacy. Unfortunately, we were all to be proven wrong as each day shows us more examples of this kind hatred in our current world. M.J. Claire is a quiet, middle-aged woman who has always had a passion for books, adventure, magic, fantasy and animals. You will find that most of her stories embody at least some of those themes. .

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews