Boon Island: A True Story of Mutiny, Shipwreck, and Cannibalism

Boon Island: A True Story of Mutiny, Shipwreck, and Cannibalism

by Andrew Vietze, Stephen Erickson
4.0 1

Paperback(First Edition)

$13.83 $16.95 Save 18% Current price is $13.83, Original price is $16.95. You Save 18%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, October 27 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

Boon Island: A True Story of Mutiny, Shipwreck, and Cannibalism by Andrew Vietze, Stephen Erickson

The wreck of the Nottingham Galley on Boon Island and the resultant rumors of insurance fraud, mutiny, treason, and cannibalism was one of the most sensational stories of the early 18th century. Shortly after departing England with Captain John Deane at the helm, his brother Jasper and another investor aboard, and a skeleton crew, the ship encountered French privateers on her way to Ireland, where she then lingered for weeks picking up cargo. They eventually headed into the North Atlantic later in the season than was reasonably safe and found themselves shipwrecked on the notorious Boon Island, just off the New England coast. Captain Deane offered one version of the events that led them to the barren rock off the coast of Maine; his crew proposed another. The story contains mysteries that endure to this day, yet no contemporary non-fiction account of the story exists. In the hands of skilled storytellers Andrew Vietze and Stephen Erickson, this becomes a historical adventure-mystery that will appeal to readers of South and The Perfect Storm.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780762777525
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 11/06/2012
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 232
Sales rank: 304,348
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Andrew Vietze is the former managing editor of Down East: The Magazine of Maine and has written for a wide array of print and online publications. He is the award-winning author of six previous books. Stephen Erickson holds an MA in American history from the University of Massachusetts/Amherst and has completed PhD course work in Early American History at the College of William and Mary.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Boon Island: A True Story of Mutiny, Shipwreck, and Cannibalism 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable. A must read if you like sea stories about Maine. Well researched
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fabulous read of just one of New England remote islands.  Excellant writing pulls you into the book.