by Ronnie Self


$22.92 $24.99 Save 8% Current price is $22.92, Original price is $24.99. You Save 8%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.



This is one Bear Family disc that's a bargain any way you slice it, containing 30 songs cut between 1956 and 1963, covering his sound from the hard, raspy rockabilly of the title track to slightly bluesier slow numbers like "I Ain't Goin' Nowhere." At his best (and he was always at his best in the recording studio), Self could rock as hard as Elvis in his wildest Memphis days, edging into Little Richard territory -- "You're So Right For Me" is almost scary in its echoes of the latter -- or handle a ballad with the kind of wistful innocence that Rick Nelson turned into a career. The stuff here is all good, not a weak song or track in the 30, and anyone who thinks they know early rock & roll or rockabilly and doesn't own this CD is kidding themselves.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/12/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127154361
catalogNumber: 15436
Rank: 130861

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ronnie Self   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Hank Garland   Guitar
Anita Kerr   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Grady Martin   Guitar,Leader
Anita Kerr Singers   Choir, Chorus
Harold Bradley   Guitar
Floyd Chance   Bass
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Buddy Harman   Drums
John Hill   Guitar
Bill McElhiney   Trumpet
Cam Mullins   Trumpet
Louis Dean Nunley   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Piano
Joe Zinkan   Bass
Andrew L. Goodrich   Saxophone
Marvin Hughes   Piano
Jack Pruett   Bass,Guitar
Bob Moore   Bass
Karl Garvin   Trumpet
Delores Dinning   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Ray C. Walker   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Jerry G. Kennedy   Guitar
William Guilford Wright   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Ike Inman   Bass

Technical Credits

Mel Tillis   Composer
Floyd Tillman   Composer
Tim Mensy   Composer
Owen Bradley   Producer
Colin Escott   Contributor,Liner Notes
Felton Jarvis   Producer
Don Law   Producer
Webb Pierce   Composer
John Strother   Track Mix
Hoffman Nienburg   Artwork
Hoffmann Nienburg   Art Direction
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer
Dennis Bouch   Track Mix
Miles Keseltine   Composer
Jonny Green   Composer
R. Tillman   Composer
Mark Servaes   Composer
Tony Holland   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews