Born Again

Born Again

by The Notorious B.I.G.The Notorious B.I.G.


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 6


When the Notorious B.I.G. was gunned down more than two years ago as the victim of a Los Angeles drive-by, a tidal wave of sadness rushed through the hip-hop community. Just weeks later, Biggie’s epic double-disc, the prophetically titled LIFE AFTER DEATH, was released to fanfare and huge sales. Now, the urban hero returns for his second posthumous release, BORN AGAIN, a fond remembrance of his commanding voice, rotund presence, and lover-boy charm. Thanks to technological wizardry, this disc features 14 "collaborations," with rap’s heavyweights lending their vocals to lost Biggie lyrics. Many tracks snap with hardcore rap intensity ("Dead Wrong" with Eminem), lewd humor ("Big Booty Hoes" with Too Short), and ill freestyles ("Rap Phenomenon" with Redman and Method Man). The bass-heavy, often cinematic beats provided by DJ Premier and Bad Boy Records’ production team bust at the seams, supported by rollicking bass lines and familiar ‘80s pop samples (including a Duran Duran lift on Biggie's own "Notorious B.I.G." with Lil’ Kim and Puff Daddy). B.I.G.’s eerie obsession with death also provides high drama on "If I Should Die Before I Wake" with Black Rob, Ice Cube, and Beanie Siegal. Craig Mack, G-Dep, and Missy Elliott, perhaps bolstered by Biggie’s netherworld presence, sound uniquely inspired on the cranking funk workout "Let Me Get Down." But for all the good-time bounce, Voletta Wallace, Biggie’s mother, closes the set with a sentimental eulogy to her departed son, reminding fans that underneath B.I.G.’s gangsta braggadocio, Versace gear, and celebrity status lay a vulnerable young man. It’s a side of Biggie his records only hinted at -- the person behind the persona.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/07/1999
Label: Bad Boy
UPC: 0786127302325
catalogNumber: 73023
Rank: 37716


  1. Born Again (Intro)
  2. Notorious B.I.G.
  3. Dead Wrong
  4. Hope You Niggas Sleep
  5. Dangerous MC's
  6. Biggie
  7. Niggas
  8. Big Booty Hoes
  9. Would You Die for Me
  10. Come On
  11. Rap Phenomenon
  12. Let Me Get Down
  13. Tonight
  14. If I Should Die Before I Wake
  15. Who Shot Ya
  16. Can I Get Witcha
  17. I Really Want to Show You
  18. Ms. Wallace (Outro)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews