Pub. Date:
Born to Run [30th Anniversary Edition]

Born to Run [30th Anniversary Edition]

by Bruce SpringsteenBruce Springsteen

CD(Anniversary Edition / Bonus DVD)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 29


Bruce Springsteen's make-or-break third album represented a sonic leap from his first two, which had been made for modest sums at a suburban studio; Born to Run was cut on a superstar budget, mostly at the Record Plant in New York. Springsteen's backup band had changed, with his two virtuoso players, keyboardist David Sancious and drummer Vini Lopez, replaced by the professional but less flashy Roy Bittan and Max Weinberg. The result was a full, highly produced sound that contained elements of Phil Spector's melodramatic work of the 1960s. Layers of guitar, layers of echo on the vocals, lots of keyboards, thunderous drums -- Born to Run had a big sound, and Springsteen wrote big songs to match it. The overall theme of the album was similar to that of The E Street Shuffle; Springsteen was describing, and saying farewell to, a romanticized teenage street life. But where he had been affectionate, even humorous before, he was becoming increasingly bitter. If Springsteen had celebrated his dead-end kids on his first album and viewed them nostalgically on his second, on his third he seemed to despise their failure, perhaps because he was beginning to fear he was trapped himself. Nevertheless, he now felt removed, composing an updated West Side Story with spectacular music that owed more to Bernstein than to Berry. To call Born to Run overblown is to miss the point; Springsteen's precise intention is to blow things up, both in the sense of expanding them to gargantuan size and of exploding them. If The Wild, the Innocent & the E Street Shuffle was an accidental miracle, Born to Run was an intentional masterpiece. It declared its own greatness with songs and a sound that lived up to Springsteen's promise, and though some thought it took itself too seriously, many found that exalting.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/13/2018
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0190758269726
catalogNumber: 8269726
Rank: 119757


Disc 1

  1. Thunder Road
  2. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  3. Night
  4. Backstreets
  5. Born to Run
  6. She's the One
  7. Meeting Across the River
  8. Jungleland

Disc 2

  1. Thunder Road
  2. Tenth-Avenue Freeze-Out
  3. Spirit in the Night
  4. Lost in the Flood
  5. She's the One
  6. Born to Run
  7. The E Street Shuffle/Having a Party
  8. It's Hard to Be a Saint in the City
  9. Backstreets
  10. Kitty's Back
  11. Jungleland
  12. Rosalita
  13. 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
  14. Detroit Medley: Jenny Take a Ride/Devil With a Blue Dress On/Good Golly
  15. For You
  16. Quarter to Three
  17. Credits

Disc 3

  1. Wings for Wheels: The Making of Born to Run
  2. Spirit in the Night
  3. Wild Billy's Circus Story
  4. Thundercrack

Album Credits

Customer Reviews