Bossa Nova for Lovers

Bossa Nova for Lovers


$11.47 $11.99 Save 4% Current price is $11.47, Original price is $11.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19


The bossa nova is tailor-made for romance with its languid rhythms, smooth and easy melodies, and intimate, sexy vocals. Bossa Nova for Lovers is 16 tracks of classic '60s bossa nova from Verve. The collection features a good mix of vocal tracks and instrumentals. On the vocal side there are five Astrud Gilberto songs including one from the record she did with organist Walter Wanderley. Two tracks from the landmark Getz/Gilberto album, "Vivo Sonhando" and "O Grande Amor," are also included, João Gilberto's lovely vocals much to the fore. On the instrumental side are five Antonio Carlos Jobim tracks taken from his two Verve records that feature the composer playing his guitar with very lush orchestra backing, two Stan Getz and Laurindo Almeida duets, and one duet between Stan Getz and Charlie Byrd. The music is lush and the mood is unswervingly romantic. The only problem with the disc is that instead of the famous version of "The Girl From Ipanema" with Astrud Gilberto on vocals, the disc has the Jobim instrumental version. Still it is a very nice collection and is recommended for bossa nova fans looking for a bit of romance.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/28/2003
Label: Umvd Labels
UPC: 0044006532929
catalogNumber: 065329
Rank: 72627

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Laurindo Almeida   Guitar
Warren Bernhardt   Piano
Phil Bodner   Woodwind
Bob Brookmeyer   Valve Trombone
Charlie Byrd   Guitar
Ron Carter   Bass
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Astrud Gilberto   Vocals
João Gilberto   Guitar,Vocals
Urbie Green   Trombone
Steve Kuhn   Piano
Hubert Laws   Flute
Jerome Richardson   Flute,Piccolo
Bud Shank   Flute
Marvin Stamm   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Leo Wright   Flute
Warren Covington   Trombone
Seldon Powell   Flute
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Grady Tate   Drums
Stu Williamson   Trumpet
Walter Wanderley   Organ
Stan Webb   Woodwind
George Duvivier   Bass
Ray Alonge   French Horn
Wayne Andre   Trombone
Ben Aronov   Piano,Harpsichord
Milton Banana   Drums
Seymour Barab   Cello
John Barber   Tuba
Raymond Beckenstein   Flute,Piccolo
Keter Betts   Bass
Maurice Bialkin   Cello
James Buffington   French Horn
Earl Chapin   French Horn
Claus Ogerman   Conductor
Harold Coletta   Viola
Buddy Deppenschmidt   Drums
George Devens   Vibes
Richard Dickler   Viola
João Donato   Piano
Don Sebesky   Conductor
Bernard Eichen   Violin
Arnold Eidus   Violin
Lewis Eley   Violin
Barry Galbraith   Guitar
Paul Gershman   Violin
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Emanuel Green   Violin
Louis Haber   Violin
Bill Hammond   Woodwind
Harry Lookofsky   Violin
Julius Held   Violin
Jack Jennings   Percussion
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Leo Kruczek   Violin
Edison Machado   Percussion
Joseph Malignaggi   Violin
Joe Mondragon   Bass
Dave Mankovitz   Viola
Jose Marino   Bass
Marty Paich   Conductor
Charles McCracken   Cello
Tony Miranda   French Horn
Jimmy Nottingham   Trumpet
George Ockner   Violin
Gene Orloff   Violin
Luis Parga   Percussion
Jose Paulo   Percussion
Romeo Penque   Flute,Piccolo
Raoul Poliakin   Violin
Dom Um Romão   Percussion,Drums
George Ricci   Cello
Bobby Rosengarden   Percussion,Drums
Margaret Ross   Harp
Harvey Shapiro   Cello
Alan Shulman   Cello
Joseph Singer   French Horn
Jose Soares   Percussion
Irving Spice   Violin
Louis Stone   Violin
Tony Studd   Bass Trombone
Toots Thielemans   Guitar,Harmonica,Human Whistle
Marcos Valle   Guitar
Kai Winding   Trombone
Claudio Slon   Percussion,Drums
Gene Byrd   Bass,Guitar
Julio Ruggiero   Bass
Dave Schwartz   Viola
Abe Kessler   Cello
Bill Reichenbach   Percussion
Tommy Williams   Bass

Technical Credits

Tim Hardin   Composer
Laurindo Almeida   Composer
Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Gene Lees   Composer
Portia Nelson   Composer
Claus Ogerman   Arranger
Aloysio de Oliveira   Composer
Don Sebesky   Arranger
Norman Gimbel   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Peter Keepnews   Notes Editing
Johnny Mandel   Composer
Marty Paich   Arranger
Creed Taylor   Producer
Marcos Valle   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Young   Liner Notes
Victor Young   Composer
Ary Barroso   Composer
Ray Gilbert   Composer
Hollis King   Art Direction
Newton Mendonça   Composer
Paulo Sérgio Valle   Composer
Ken Druker   Executive Producer
Amélie Hazard   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews