Boulez Conducts Ravel & Debussy

Boulez Conducts Ravel & Debussy

by Pierre Boulez


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Boulez Conducts Ravel & Debussy

Between 1991 and 1999, Pierre Boulez recorded the major orchestral works of Claude Debussy and Maurice Ravel with the Cleveland Orchestra, the Berlin Philharmonic, and the London Symphony Orchestra; Deutsche Grammophon has reissued these handsome performances in a six-CD trimline box. The Debussy recordings occupy a little more than two of the discs, while the majority of space is devoted to a much larger representation of Ravel's orchestral music. Rightly or wrongly, these composers have been tagged with the term, "Impressionist," so-called after the 19th century art movement in France, primarily for their use of evocative tone colors and exotic-sounding orchestration to create atmospheric music that suggests, rather than boldly depicts, images. As a master of instrumental colors, dynamics, and textures, Boulez is one of the world's finest interpreters of these works, especially because his keen awareness of the composers' innovations translates into accurate performances that always sound meticulously rehearsed and perfectly polished. There is no attempt to create an overly fluffy or diaphanous sound, typical of imitations of Debussy and Ravel in clichéd film music, nor any manipulation of the orchestra to make the scores prettier or more lush than they already are. Instead, the orchestras give incisive, scintillating, and often robust-sounding performances that feel newly conceived and far from ordinary. Deutsche Grammophon's reproduction is all-digital and exceptional for its clarity and depth. Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/08/2012
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947903338
catalogNumber: 001676802


  1. Ballades de François Villon (3), song cycle for voice & piano (or orchestra), L.119
  2. Le jet d'eau ("Tes beaux yeux sont las, pauvre amants"), song for voice & piano, L. 64/3
  3. Danses sacrée et profane, for chromatic harp & string orchestra, L. 103
  4. Menuet antique, for piano (or orchestra)
  5. Pavane pour une infante défunte, for piano (or orchestra)
  6. Le tombeau de Couperin, for orchestra
  7. Shéhérazade, poems (3) for soprano (or tenor) & orchestra (or piano)
  8. La Mer, symphonic sketches (3) for orchestra, L. 109
  9. Jeux, ballet, L. 126
  10. Rhapsodie for clarinet & piano (or orchestra), L. 116
  11. Nocturnes, for female chorus & orchestra, L. 91
  12. Images (3), for orchestra, L. 122
  13. Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun), for orchestra, L. 86
  14. Printemps, symphonic suite for chorus, piano & orchestra, L. 61
  15. Piano Concerto in D major (for the left hand)
  16. Valses (8) nobles et sentimentales, for piano (or orchestra)
  17. Piano Concerto in G major
  18. La valse, poème choréographique for orchestra
  19. Daphnis et Chloé, ballet for orchestra
  20. Boléro, ballet for orchestra
  21. Rhapsodie espagnole, for orchestra (or 2 pianos)
  22. Alborada del Gracioso, for orchestra
  23. Une barque sur l'océan, for orchestra
  24. Ma mère l'oye, ballet for orchestra

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews