Boulez Conducts Stravinsky

Boulez Conducts Stravinsky

by Pierre BoulezPierre Boulez


$40.77 $42.99 Save 5% Current price is $40.77, Original price is $42.99. You Save 5%.


The years have seen Pierre Boulez record for CBS, Erato, EMI, and Philips, among other labels, but his most consistent and critically praised work has appeared on Deutsche Grammophon, where he has conducted the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Cleveland Orchestra, the Berlin Philharmonic, and his own Ensemble InterContemporain in many successful performances. These ensembles are heard on this trimline, six-CD box set of Igor Stravinsky's major works, which brings together Boulez's recordings of "L'oiseau de feu," "Petrushka," "Le Sacre du printemps," "L'histoire du Soldat," the symphonies, concertos, and other works, recorded between 1980 and 1996. As one of the leading champions of modernism, first as a composer and essayist, then as a prominent conductor, Boulez is regarded as an authority on Stravinsky's oeuvre, and it is difficult to imagine many conductors who have a better understanding of the technical and stylistic issues that affect performances. Boulez is also famous for his precision and meticulousness, which make the details stand out clearly in the rhythmically complex and texturally dense orchestral scores of the ballets, and yet seem so delicate and exact in the concertos and pieces for smaller ensembles. That Boulez has inspired a devoted international following is beyond question, so this collection of some of his finest recordings will appeal to his admirers and the wider circle of Stravinsky fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/10/2012
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947787303
catalogNumber: 001660502
Rank: 98997


  1. Sacred Songs (2), transcription for voice & 9 instruments (after Wolf: Spanisches Liederbuch)
  2. Elegy for J. F. K., for voice & 3 clarinets
  3. In Memoriam Dylan Thomas, dirge-canons & song for voice, string quartet & 4 trombones
  4. Songs (3) from William Shakespeare, for voice, flute, clarinet & viola
  5. Mavra, opera buffa in 1 act: Song of Parasha
  6. Tilim-bom, transcription for voice & orchestra (after Histoires pour enfants No. 1)
  7. Songs (4) for voice, flute, harp & guitar
  8. Berceuses du Chat (4), song cycle for voice & 3 clarinets or piano
  9. Pribaoutki (4), song cycle for voice & 8 instruments or piano
  10. Petites Chansons (3), for voice & chamber orchestra ("Souvenir de mon enfance")
  11. Japanese Lyrics (3), song cycle for voice & piano (or chamber orchestra)
  12. Poems of Balmont (2), for voice & chamber orchestra
  13. Poems of Verlaine (2), song cycle for voice & piano or orchestra, Op. 9
  14. Pastorale, song without words for voice & woodwind quartet
  15. Double Canon, for string quartet ("Raoul Dufy in Memoriam")
  16. Epitaphium für das Grabmal des Prinzen Max Egon zu Fürstenberg, for flute, clarinet & harp
  17. Elegy, for viola (or violin) solo
  18. Concerto for chamber orchestra in E flat major ("Dumbarton Oaks")
  19. Instrumental Miniatures (8), for 15 players
  20. Concertino, for string quartet
  21. Pieces (3) for solo clarinet
  22. Ebony Concerto, for clarinet & jazz band
  23. Symphony in Three Movements, for orchestra
  24. Symphony of Psalms, for chorus & orchestra
  25. Symphonies of Wind Instruments, for 23 wind instruments (1947 version)
  26. L'histoire du soldat (The Soldier's Tale), concert suite for 7 instruments
  27. Chant du rossignol (Song of the Nightingale), symphonic poem for orchestra
  28. King of the Stars (Zvezdoliki), cantata for male chorus & orchestra
  29. Scherzo fantastique, for orchestra, Op. 3
  30. Petrushka, ballet (burlesque) in 4 scenes for orchestra (1911 version)
  31. Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring), ballet in 2 parts for orchestra
  32. Etudes (4) for orchestra
  33. Fireworks (Feu D'artifice), fantasy for orchestra, Op. 4
  34. L'oiseau de feu (The Firebird), ballet in 2 scenes for orchestra

Album Credits

Customer Reviews