Bradley Wiggins: Tour de Force

Bradley Wiggins: Tour de Force

by John Deering

Paperback

$15.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

Rising from an inner city background, abandoned by his pro cyclist father as a toddler, Bradley Wiggins became a prodigious talent. World Junior Champion, World Champion and Olympic Champion were all titles that came his way at a startlingly young age, but what he really wanted was success on the road. 'Wiggo's' reinvention on the path to becoming Britain's first Tour de France winner in over a hundred years of racing is one of sport's most uplifting and inspiring stories. In this captivating and insightful narrative, Wiggins' old friend and colleague John Deering sets this remarkable story against the backdrop of Wiggins' crushing Tour victory, his races along the thousands of kilometres of French tarmac, telling the tale of his brutal procession from Liege to Paris in counterpoint to his fascinating life. From a Kilburn council estate to the Champs Elysees via the Olympics, Paul Weller and the world's most glorious sideburns, the legend of Bradley Wiggins is unravelled like never before.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781780271293
Publisher: Birlinn, Limited
Publication date: 04/22/2013
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.80(h) x (d)

About the Author

John Deering's first book, Team on the Run (Mainstream, 2003), was a study of his time with the chaotic but charismatic Linda McCartney Cycling Team and went on to be voted 5th best cycling book of all time. He has supplied many features to publications such as Procycling, The Official Tour de France Guide and Ride Cycling Review, and contributed regularly to Eurosport's cycling coverage. John is the author of 12 Months In The Saddle, due in May 2013 (Carlton Books) and Team on the Run (2003 Mainstream).

Table of Contents

Prologue: Liège Saturday, 30 June 2012 1

Stage 1 Liège-Seraing, 198km Sunday, 1 July 2012 5

Stage 2 Visé-Tournai, 207.5km Monday, 2 July 2012 17

Stage 3 Orchies-Boulogne-sur-Mer, 197km Tuesday, 3 July 2012 27

Stage 4 Abbeville-Rouen, 214.5km Wednesday, 4 July 2012 37

Stage 5 Rouen-Saint Quentin, 196.5km Thursday, 5 July 2012 47

Stage 6 Épernay-Metz, 207.5km Friday, 6 July 2012 53

Stage 7 Tomblaine-La Planche des Belles Filles, 199km Saturday, 7 July 2012 67

Stage 8 Belfort-Porrentruy, 157.5km Sunday, 8 July 2012 83

Stage 9 Arc-et-Senans-Besançon, Time Trial, 41.5km Monday, 9 July 2012 93

Stage 10 Mâcon-Bellegarde-sur-Valserine, 194.5km Wednesday, 11 July 2012 107

Stage 11 Albertville-La Toussuire, 148km Thursday, 12 July 2012 117

Stage 12 Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne-Annonay Davézieux, 226km Friday, 13 July 2012 131

Stage 13 Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux-Le Cap d'Agde, 217km Saturday, 14 July 2012 143

Stage 14 Limoux-Foix, 191km Sunday, 15 July 2012 153

Stage 15 Samatan-Pau, 158.5km Monday, 16 July 2012 163

Stage 16 Pau-Bagnères-de-Luchon, 197km Wednesday, 18 July 2012 175

Stage 17 Bagnères-de-Luchon-Peyragudes, 143.5km Thursday, 19 July 2012 183

Stage 18 Blagnac-Brive-la-Gaillarde, 222.5km Friday, 20 July 2012 197

Stage 19 Bonneval-Chartres, Time Trial, 53.5km Saturday, 21 July 2012 205

Stage 20 Rambouillet-Paris, 120km Sunday, 22 July 2012 213

Epilogue: Hampton Court Wednesday, 1 August 2012 219

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews