Brain Jack

Brain Jack

by Brian Falkner
4.5 65

Hardcover(Library Binding)

$20.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Brain Jack by Brian Falkner

A Top Ten YALSA Pick for Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults! Fans of Cory Doctorow's Little Brother and M. T. Anderson's Feed will love this high-octane cyber thriller.

In a dystopian near-future, neuro-headsets have replaced computer keyboards. Just slip on a headset, and it's the Internet at the speed of thought. For teen hacker Sam Wilson, a headset is a must. But as he masters the new technology, he has a terrifying realization. If anything on his computer is vulnerable to an attack, what happens when his mind is linked to the system? Could consciousness itself be hacked?

Brian Falkner, author of The Tomorrow Code and The Project, delivers an action-packed and thought-provoking sci-fi thriller in which logging on to a computer could mean the difference between life and death.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375939242
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 09/28/2010
Pages: 368
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

BRIAN FALKNER has been surrounded by computers since childhood. His older brother built one out of spare parts, and Brian was programming it at a time when nobody could imagine the PC revolution that was to come. As computers developed, so did Brian's love affair with them. His first major in college was computer science.

In the real world, Brian lives in the beautiful country of New Zealand, in the South Pacific. In the cyberworld, you can find him at brianfalkner.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Brain Jack 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
code7r More than 1 year ago
"Brain Jack" by Brian Falkner is a story about a 17 year old boy named Sam Wilson who is a genius hacker who, after bringing "the United States of America to its knees," is recruited to work for Homeland Security. This book was a wild ride and a peek into the minds of computer geniuses. If you ever wondered how you can have an action thriller book about computers and hacking, then this is a good book for you. The book as well paced and the characters become people who you root for. I really enjoyed this book and it is relevant to our present day. Sam is presented as an intelligent and mature teenager and would definitely hit a note with teenagers reading the book. I will definitely be seeking out other books by this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was hard for me to get into it at first, but about a third of the way into the the plot really started to form. Before that it seemed like a bunch of mosltly information that did not work with the plot, such as sams friend fargas who you do not see the rest the book. The ending seemed a bit quick also and i was hoping for something about meeting up with his family or with the other people he befriended a CDD. This was an amazing bok in all, and i hope that you read it sometime ( if you havent already). You may like it if you enjoy Science fiction Computors Action Hacking
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Sam Wilson is a hacker; perhaps one of the best in the world. He can hack into any computer system, no matter what type of security is used. Your information is definitely not safe from him. The government knows this; their solution - put Sam on their team. Sam and his group of hackers work to keep "them" out of the United States Internet system. No one actually knows who "they" are, but they're out there and are constantly trying to get at classified information. One entity, known as Ursula, wants more than information. She wants total control of the human consciousness. Sam and his cohorts won't let that happen. Not unlike Cory Doctorow's LITTLE BROTHER and FOR THE WIN, Falkner presents a scenario that deals with cyber-terrorism/espionage. If you aren't a techie, don't worry; context clues are a wonderful thing, and Falkner makes the story accessible to all readers. Much of what he discusses read like Sanskrit to me, but it didn't matter because the story itself was so engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, and am excited to see what the author has in store for us next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy this book a lot but, this book gets complicated at times but other than that i reccomend you read this book if you are interested in technology
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very interesting and kept u wanting to read more, but the ending was very confusing and a little weird. Overall I would recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brain jack is a book witten for geeks. A must buy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of my all time favorites
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book in all but for people who cant understand things about a computer just skip over it you will be happy you did because it is very action packed and well developed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
S o
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im gonna read it again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am fifteen, and I absolutely loved reading this book. Some of the computer terms were difficult to understand at first, but the author made the book readable anyways. I would recommend this book to anyone who uses the internet and loves to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was an awsom book. For the first time in my life, my heart was thumping really fast in the suspensful parts. This has never happened to me before. This book is amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, this guy knows what he is talking about!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it on a road trip, and loved every page. Brian does it again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago