Brand New Wayo: Funk, Fast Times & Nigerian Boogie Badness 1979-1983

Brand New Wayo: Funk, Fast Times & Nigerian Boogie Badness 1979-1983


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Brand New Wayo: Funk, Fast Times & Nigerian Boogie Badness 1979-1983

Nigerian pop music has garnered a large international following in recent years through hip-hop's penchant for sampling the beats and rhythms of Afro-beat recordings, which were heavily influenced by funk and disco in the first place. This delightfully packaged set (the included book is worth the admission price alone) highlights a slightly different genre of Nigerian music (don't worry, it still grooves like funk and you can certainly dance to it; call it post-Afro-beat), the genre that has come to be known as Nigerian boogie. Born at an affluent time in the country's history between 1979 and 1983 when the oil boom turned the lights on in the nation's clubs and dance halls, the tracks collected here are wonderfully vital and fun.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2011
Label: Comb & Razor Sound
UPC: 0112437100120
catalogNumber: 1001

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duncan Mackay   Keyboards
Gary Barnacle   Saxophone
Chris Cameron   fender rhodes
Pam Douglas   Background Vocals
Carol Ingram   Background Vocals
Lemmy Jackson   Percussion,Keyboards
Terry Jackson   Hand Clapping
Kim and Maz   Background Vocals
Jojo Kuo   Drums
Gaspar Lawal   Percussion,Conga
George Lee   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Chris MBA   Percussion,Vocals
Morris Michael   Guitar,Background Vocals
Ken Okulolo   Bass,Vocals
Jo Partridge   Guitar
Ray Shell   Background Vocals
Randy Taylor   Bass
Luke Tunney   Trumpet
Annie Whitehead   Trombone
Eddie Cox   Hand Clapping
Simon Soul Oshijo   Bass,Bass Guitar
Noel Assolo   Bass Guitar
Fred Fisher   Trombone
Akie Deen   Percussion
Prince B   Choir, Chorus
Laolu Akins   Drums
Fuzzy Gbagi   Saxophone
Friday Pozo   Conga,Timbales
Oscar Elimbi   Guitar,Vocals
Candido Obajimi   Timbales
Dele Okonkwo   Saxophone
Willy Nfor   Bass
Tony Okoroji   Organ,Percussion
Dizzy K. Falola   Vocals,Background Vocals
Berkley Jones   Guitar
Eji Oyewole   Soprano Saxophone
Dean Disi   Percussion
Raimi Olalowo   Trombone
Princess Bumy Olajubu   Background Vocals
Paul Sokeng   Drums
P.P.P. Kiala Nzavotonga   Guitar,Vocals
Orits Williki   Percussion
Omoko Vincent Ikedi   Drums
Okokon Udofia   Trumpet
Okoh Maleh Okoh   Guitar,Bass Guitar
Nkono Teles   Synthesizer,Clavinet,Hand Clapping,Mini Moog,Moog Bass
Nina DaCosta   Percussion,Background Vocals
Nico Ossomba   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Mosco Lee   Drums
Mike Kollins   Drums
Mike Abiola Phillips   Guitar
Mahmadi Rado   Conga
Leslie Brunner   Prophet 5
Leon Charles   Percussion,Background Vocals
Kwesi "Mo" Maison   Piano
Kponja Epanda   Keyboards
Kojo Maison   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Keni St. George   Percussion
Kayode Dosunmu   Guitar,Bass Guitar
Jett Arnold Nylander   Guitar
Jane James   Background Vocals
James Eyefia   Guitar
Jake Sollo   Guitar,Percussion,Synthesizer Bass
Isaiah Obasuyi   Guitar (Tenor)
Igwe Ede   Percussion
Ify Okwechime   Background Vocals
Godfrey Odili   Drums
Ghombi Myris   Drums,Vocals
George Atomba   Conga
George Achini   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Bass Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Gbubemi Amas   Vocals
Fredo Ndoumbez   Trumpet
Frankie Song   Piano,Keyboards,Vibes
Francis Igboke   Percussion
Fidelis Nwekwe   Percussion
Fidel Bateke   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Felix Odey   Bass,Rhythm Guitar
Felix Lebarty   Guitar,Bass Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Guitar (Tenor)
Eugene Ndema   Acoustic Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Eno Louis   Rhythm Guitar,Guitar (Tenor)
Eddie Wilkey   Guitar
Diguga Ifedioranma   Percussion,Conga,Background Vocals
Didi Lead   Rhythm Guitar,Guitar (Tenor)
D. Number Adebulu   Percussion
Chris Ify Hanen   Synthesizer,Percussion,Vocals,Background Vocals
Charlie Papa   Guitar,Percussion
Basil Barap   Bass
Austin Onwurah   Drums
Ato Davis   Rhythm Guitar
Alex Tony Okoroji   Organ,Synthesizer,Guitar,Piano,Strings,Background Vocals,Clavinet
Abiodun "Chico" Oyemade   Percussion,Conga
Segun Robert   Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Oby Onyioha   Vocals
Murphy Williams   Vocals,Background Vocals
Martha Ulaeto   Vocals,Background Vocals
Kris Okotie   Vocals
Joe Moks   Vocals,Background Vocals
Emma Baloka   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Bayo Damazio   Vocals
Amel Addmore   Background Vocals
Zack Roberts   Vocals,Background Vocals
Willy Roy   Strings,Keyboards
Vincent Ekedi   Drums
Uncle Ben   Vocals,Background Vocals
Locrian String Ensemble   Strings
Terry Obi   Trumpet
Sunny Ojegbalani Ofili   Percussion,Conga,Background Vocals
Steeve Black   Percussion,Conga,Vocals,Background Vocals
Sony Enang   Keyboards
Sonny Okpala   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Simeon Catlyn   Background Vocals
Sharp Mike   Trumpet
Sega Gafatchi   Organ,Synthesizer,Guitar,Percussion,Background Vocals
Sandra Onoh   Background Vocals
Renny Pearl   Percussion,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals

Technical Credits

Peter Schreier   String Overdubs
Lemmy Jackson   Composer,Producer
Chris MBA   Composer
Brad Grisdale   Engineer
Akie Deen   Producer
Odion Iruoje   Producer
Pete James   overdub engineer
Pat Stapely   overdub engineer
Tony Okoroji   Producer
Tony Essien   Producer
Kayode Salami   Engineer
Uchenna Ikonne   Liner Notes,Annotation
Alfredo Rick-Dimas   Art Direction
Mosco Egbe   Arranger,Producer
Mike Abiola Phillips   Producer
Matto Osiuwu   Engineer
Martin Ikebuaku   Engineer
Larry Ifedioranma   Producer
Kwesi "Mo" Maison   Horn Arrangements
Kunle Falola   Composer
Kojo Maison   Producer
John Malife   Engineer
Jake Sollo   Arranger,Producer,String Ensemble
Goddy Ukonu   Engineer
George Achini   Arranger,Producer
Gbubemi Amanoritsewor   Composer
Christian Aghanenu   Composer
Chris Ify Hanen   Producer
Ben J. Bonnaud   Engineer
Bayo Aro   Engineer
Ayoade Adigun   Engineer
Alex Tony Okoroji   Composer,Producer
Segun Robert   Arranger
Murphy Williams   Composer
Martha Ulaeto   Composer,Producer
Kris Okotie   Composer
Emma Baloka   Arranger
Amel Addmore   Producer
A. Martin Ikebuaku   Engineer
Zack Roberts   Producer
Toks Shotade   Engineer
Steeve Black   Composer
Segun Robert Lepe   Composer
Sega Gafatchi   Producer
Renny Pearl   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Remy Njoku   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews