×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Brave Never Write Poetry
     

The Brave Never Write Poetry

by Daniel Jones
 

See All Formats & Editions

First published in 1985, when Daniel Jones was just 26, The Brave Never Write Poetry, the poet/critic/novelist's lone collection of poems, was a cult hit, turning 'poetry' on its head before its author (then known simply as 'Jones') swore off verse entirely. Written in a direct, plainspoken, autobiographical and at times confessional style in the tradition

Overview

First published in 1985, when Daniel Jones was just 26, The Brave Never Write Poetry, the poet/critic/novelist's lone collection of poems, was a cult hit, turning 'poetry' on its head before its author (then known simply as 'Jones') swore off verse entirely. Written in a direct, plainspoken, autobiographical and at times confessional style in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Al Purdy, these confrontational poems about sex and boredom, drugs and suicide, document Jones' depressive, alcoholic years as an enfant terrible.

This long-overdue revised edition brings Jones' unforgettable voice to a new generation of readers and includes the complete text of the original collection (including Jones' own sardonic assessments of his own poetry), a new preface by poet/critic Kevin Connolly, and postscript commentary from many of Jones' closest friends and literary colleagues.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

‘Reading The Brave Never Write Poetry is a little like reliving an adolescent crush – there is still something irresistible in a bad boy, especially one with literary talent.’ – New Pages Review

‘Gritty, honest, and caustic ... Reading it is like stumbling over someone’s opened journal.’
National Post

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781770562868
Publisher:
Coach House Books
Publication date:
09/22/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
96
File size:
567 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Daniel Jones was born in Hamilton, Ontario, in 1959, and lived in Toronto from 1977 until his tragic suicide in 1994. His books include a collection of poetry, The Brave Never Write Poetry (Coach House), a novel, Obsessions (Mercury), and a collection of short stories, The People One Knows (Mercury). A former contributing editor to WHAT!, Piranha, and Border/Lines, Jones also edited and, with his wife, Robyn Gillam, co-published Streetcar Editions.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews