Break the Silence

Break the Silence

by Jon Peter Lewis


$14.75 $15.99 Save 8% Current price is $14.75, Original price is $15.99. You Save 8%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, August 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Break the Silence

It's fair to say that Jon Peter Lewis was the original American Idol weirdo, the twisting pencil salesman who shook his way into a small cult -- one that was big enough to support him, yet not quite big enough to get him to a major-label contract. Small his cult may have been, but that only made them more dedicated, sticking with him as he built himself up as an independent artist, quietly releasing a debut called Stories from Hollywood in 2006, following it up two years later with Break the Silence. Like its predecessor, Break the Silence is on an indie, but this was given a bigger production and a bigger promotional push, which is only appropriate for a record that was made with mainstream radio in mind. That Break the Silence bears a greater resemblance to the mainstream radio of 1990 instead of 2008 is accidental -- despite a couple of fleeting Coldplay moments and an occasional mock British affectation, this almost feels like an homage to the age of Jon Secada -- but it's a sign of not only how isolated Jon Peter Lewis and his collaborators are, it's also proof that even the weirdos on American Idol are still consumed by their hunger for stardom. JPL plays it a little cooler than Danny Noriega, but he'd rather warble love songs and lullabies than shake it up, even to the extent of giving listeners a lively tempo. He's not bad at this: he is a plaintive, earnest singer with some degree of on-record charisma, but he's pirouetted from being an unrepentant ham on TV to being a stiff-shirt, button-down crooner. He's turned from a fun, goofy date into a safe, respectable husband who would benefit by reconnecting to his older, looser self.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/22/2008
Label: Adrenaline Music
UPC: 0879004000039
catalogNumber: 400003
Rank: 212402

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jon Peter Lewis   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Kenny Aronoff   Percussion,Drums
Chris Garcia   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Keyboards
Charles Judge   Synthesizer,Strings
Tim Pierce   Guitar,Ebo
Sean Hurley   Bass
Nick Lashley   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Chris Cheney   Bass
Chris Chaney   Bass
Zac Rae   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Wurlitzer,Synthesizer Piano
Andrew Synowiec   Acoustic Guitar
Blake Mills   Acoustic Guitar,Rhythm Guitar

Technical Credits

Bob Dylan   Composer
Chris Garcia   Programming,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Ross Hogarth   Drum Engineering
Charles Judge   Programming
Sharon Vaughn   Composer
Russ Desalvo   Composer
Don Grierson   Executive Producer
Arnie Roman   Composer
Brian Porizek   Art Direction
Zac Rae   Programming
Ross Copperman   Composer
Kymm Britton   Publicity
Don Mescall   Composer
Bobby Cameron   Composer
Darkrow   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews