Breakwater Bay: A Novel

Breakwater Bay: A Novel

by Shelley Noble
3.8 10

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Breakwater Bay 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
BREAKWATER BAY, takes readers back to the coastal area of Rhode Island, Newport's forgotten Gilded Age Mansions, where we pick up from Newport Dreams (novella)--I would recommend reading prior to Breakwater Bay. Newport Dreams featured Geordie (a photographer) who comes to work on a restoration project called The Gilbert House. There she meets Bruce, Doug, and the two girls featured in Breakwater Bay –Carlyn and main character, Meri. BREAKWATER BAY opens with Meri’s thirtieth birthday, a preservationist restoring this mansion back to its glory, uncovers hidden gems (both in the building as well as her life). She enjoys spending time with her Gram at Candler Farm and her neighbor, Alden who has been a friend since she was a child. Little does she know his deep connection to this family. However after her surprise birthday party, she drives out to her Gram’s house to continue the celebration, and gets the shock of her life. She finds out she was adopted and her Gram and her step-dad gives her letters from her mom, who died several years ago. Everything changes for Meri. She now has to figure out her past, and her real family and her own identity. In addition, the current boyfriend, Peter is going off to law school and she is not sure she even wants a future with him. However, there is more about her past as she begins to uncover dark family secrets. At the same time, she finds her relationship with her Gram’s next door neighbor, may be more than just friendship. BREAKWATER BAY is a thought provoking novel about choices. One woman who found herself pregnant from a rich family –she is not allowed to be with the father of her baby, one teenage boy who helped this pregnant woman and saved her life and kept his promise, and another mother who lost her own baby, and a mother and daughter who make a choice which will forever affect another life. A multi-generational story of three generations of woman, each with tough choices and each with a different perspective. I loved the character, Gram, as she was definitely the foundation of this family and opened her heart and home to Meri and her friends, and can only image the secret she has kept, as she protected her daughter and her granddaughter. This is my fifth book by Noble, and she does not disappoint, as she is the queen of restoration—with transformations, of old to new, from places, things, to lives of her rich characters. If readers enjoy the Newport’s Gilded Age, you may want to read A Sense of Entitlement by Anna Loan-Wilsey (a mystery), where you will learn more about this era. Fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Patti Callahan Henry, Joanne DeMaio, Karen White and Wendy Wax will appreciate Noble’s subject matter and writing style, for a relaxing summer beach read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read a lot of books and I very seldom think one deserves five stars. This one is definitely five and proves there are writers that do not have to use pornographic sex scenes to sell a book. I am 75 years old and I well remember books with good stories and no porn. It can be done and this writer proves it! You go girl!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book sounded good and after the reviews, i bought it. What a disappointment. You guess the entire book immediately. No guess work here. It is just too obvious. Yet the female character is like "duh?" The writing is childish and the only real movement is her going to her apartment to her gran's and then we get to go to work where the author did a good job of explaining in detail the restoration process. Had she spent all that effort on character development, we would have something. As it is, we are left with "what was i thinking when i bought this?" Save your $$$. Go get a different book.
ABookishGirlBlog More than 1 year ago
Meri Hollis's life seems perfect she has a loving supporting family, a boyfriend, a job she loves, and friends but on her 30th birthday  her family will tell her the truth about her past that will send her looking for answers. I personally think that Meri handled the news fairly well I don't think that I would be as composed about it as she was to find out my "family" is not technically my "family".  Alden, her Gran's neighbor, though a teenager when Meri was born was like a big brother to her until her and her family moved away when she was in her teens but even then he kept a close eye on her from afar. But why? The intensity of his devotion seems like a bit much, at least to me, Meri of course does not question it because he has always just been there but when a promise made long ago is revealed to her Meri starts to look at Alden a bit different. So is her entire relationship with Alden just an obligation that he feels he needs to keep filling because of a promise he made 30 years ago? But is it more than that? For both Alden and Meri. A heart-warming story of family and a love that has always been there! This was one of the better chick-lit books that I have read this year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nook off again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss your hand and post this on three other books and you will find a iphone 5 under your pillow.