Breathless

Breathless

by Anne Sward

Hardcover

$25.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23

Overview

In the tradition of Housekeeping and Tinkers, award-winning Swedish author Anne Swärd’s American debut blends the lyricism of youth with the darker desires of age.

Lo was just six when she met thirteen-year-old Lukas the night a brushfire threatened their community. Both the children of immigrants, both wild with love for the land, theirs was an easy friendship despite the fierce injunctions of Lo’s family. Meeting in secret at an abandoned lake house, they whiled away their summers in the water and their winters curled up inside, reenacting dialogue from their favorite film, Breathless.

How a friendship so innocent and pure—and so strictly forbidden—could be destroyed is a mystery that unfolds across Lo’s travels from Berlin to Copenhagen to New York, from tryst to tryst, as she seems fated to roam the outside world she blames for tearing her and Lukas apart. Haunting, resonant, full of humor and heartrending depth, Breathless explores how childhood acts can stake an unimpeachable claim on our older selves, and how atonement might be wrest from the past.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780670026548
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/15/2013
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 6.42(w) x 9.14(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Anne Swärd has received several awards for her fiction as well as an August Prize nomination. She lives with her family in Skåne, Sweden. Deborah Bragan-Turner is a bookseller and translator. She lives in Beziers, France.

Customer Reviews