by Shayne Ward


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



Having released the obligatory album of ballads and boy band-style songs on his debut self-titled album, Shayne Ward, the 2005 X Factor winner, came up with a second album that was vastly different. Ward teamed up with producer Ryan Tedder and the Swedish production team at Maratone, who had previously worked with Jennifer Lopez, Natasha Bedingfield, and Britney Spears, among others, and gone were the sickly sweet ballads that changed key as they neared their conclusions (just to remind listeners that the end is nigh). In their place was a set of uptempo R&B numbers more akin to Justin Timberlake -- even down to using the letter "U" instead of "You" in the titles "No U Hang Up" and "U Got Me So," although the album did have its low moments, with "Damaged" sounding like a Peter Andre faux reggae castoff, and "Tangled Up" was a rerun of Wham!'s "Everything She Wants" with an early-'80s-style electro drumbeat. "Until You" was a return to the ballads of old, and the '80s were also revisited on a cover of the S.O.S. Band's "Just Be Good to Me," with more than a hint of the bassline from Beats International's dub version. Shayne Ward fans who had bought the debut album, even casual observers who voted for him on The X Factor, would have been surprised by the complete change in direction and it didn't appear to do him any harm, either, hitting number two behind his successor, Leona Lewis.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/20/2007
Label: Sony Bmg Europe
UPC: 0886971884029
catalogNumber: 718840

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shayne Ward   Primary Artist,Vocals
Tony Lewis   Celli
Mark Berrow   Violin
Livingstone Brown   Bass
Robin Firman   Celli
Johnathan Rees   Violin
George Robertson   Viola
Patrick Kiernan   Violin
Boguslaw Kostecki   Violin
Jackie Shave   Lead
Lawrence Johnson   Background Vocals
Everton Nelson   Violin
Adam Phillips   Guitar
Rachel Bolt   Viola
Dai Emanuel   Violin
Simon Fischer   Violin
Mats Berntoft   Bass,Guitar
Mark Read   Background Vocals
Jeanette Olsson   Background Vocals
Camela Leierth   Background Vocals
Mich Hedin Hansen   Percussion
Ely Rise   Piano
Stockholm Session Strings   Strings
Jonas Jeberg   Musician
Savan Kotecha   Vocals,Background Vocals
Tom Pigott-Smith   Violin
Christopher Tombling   Violin
James McLeod   Violin
Ivo Jan van der Werff   Viola
Steve Morris   Violin

Technical Credits

Evan Rogers   Composer
Cutfather   Producer
Terry Lewis   Composer
Brian Rawling   Producer
Carl Sturken   Composer
Phil Tan   Vocal Mixing
Steven Miller   Engineer
Mary Scully   Principal
Peter Lale   Principal
James Harris   Composer
Lawrence Johnson   Choir Arrangement
David Daniels [cello]   Principal
Max Martin   Composer
Julian Leaper   Principal
Justin Trugman   Composer,Producer
Paul Meehan   Programming,Producer
Arnthor Birgisson   Composer
Simon Changer   Engineer
Tomas Ljung   Engineer
Ryan Tedder   Composer
Neil Comber   Engineer
Jonas Jeberg   Programming,Producer
Savan Kotecha   Composer
Fredrik Andersson   Engineer
Wil Malone   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews