Bridge to Bat City

Bridge to Bat City

by Ernest Cline

Narrated by Felicia Day

Unabridged — 5 hours, 8 minutes

Bridge to Bat City

Bridge to Bat City

by Ernest Cline

Narrated by Felicia Day

Unabridged — 5 hours, 8 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$17.09
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $17.09 $18.99

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

An inspirational animal story that pairs an unforgettable main character with a colony of bats for the most unlikely and yet sincere friendship. With a deep connection to music and nature, this is a book with a wide appeal, for readers of Pax, A Wolf Called Wander and Song for a Whale.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Ernest Cline comes a mostly true tall tale about an unexpected friendship between a young girl and a music-loving colony of bats.

After losing her mother, thirteen-year-old Opal moves in with her uncle Roscoe on the family farm. There, Opal bonds with Uncle Roscoe over music and befriends a group of orphaned, music-loving bats. But just as the farm is starting to feel like home, the bats' cave is destroyed by a big mining company with its sights set on the farmland next.

If Opal and the bats can fit in anywhere, it's the nearby city of Austin, home to their favorite music and a host of wonderfully eccentric characters. But with people afraid of the bats and determined to get rid of them, it'll take a whole lot of courage to prove that this is where the bats-and Opal-belong.*


Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews

2024-02-03
A 13-year-old girl and a colony of bats overcome losses in this middle-grade debut from Ready Player One author Cline.

After Opal B. Flats’ mother dies, she goes to live with Uncle Roscoe on the family farm in the Texas Hill Country. Her first night there, she has an alien encounter and subsequently discovers that she can communicate with the Mexican free-tailed bats living in a nearby cave. Their connection becomes essential when Opal, Uncle Roscoe, and the bats, through differing circumstances, are forced to find new homes. Opal and Uncle Roscoe, who read white, convince the bats to accompany them to Austin, “the only place in this whole stone-hearted state where weirdos are welcome!” If Opal and Uncle Roscoe have a slow start with fitting in, it’s even more difficult for a colony of over a million bats, especially when prejudice against them is being systematically reinforced by a greedy councilman whose pesticide business suffers when the bats start eating insects. The third-person narration unfolds in a homey style that’s colored with references to music and famous names that contribute to the sense of place, including Ann Richards, Selena, and Willie Nelson. Entries from Opal’s scrapbook are interspersed throughout. Readers will be relieved that, despite the hardships Opal and the bats must overcome, they ultimately prevail, succeeding in making friends and new homes for themselves in this celebratory primer on bats and belonging. Westell’s delicate, atmospheric illustrations greatly enhance the text.

Delightfully weird and whimsical. (Fiction. 8-12)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940160044965
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Publication date: 04/09/2024
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 584,409
Age Range: 8 - 11 Years
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews